Dinner with Kristy and Laura

I had dinner tonight with Kristy and Laura (who used to blog) at
R. Thomas.
I hadn’t been to R. Thomas in years. It is one of those restaurants that I have always liked but just never really think of. I’d met Laura twice previously and neither one of us had met Kristy before, but we all got along like old friends. It’s so funny how that happens. Laura and I ordered the same thing – the Thai express. The waiter said it was his favorite thing on the menu and that he went for two years before he even tried anything else. Sold! It came with either chicken or tempeh, but I asked for tofu instead. I’ve tried to make myself like tempeh but I’ve come to the realization that I just don’t.

IMG_3966.JPG

The food was really good and we ended up sitting around chatting for a long time after we finished eating. We all said that we need to do these dinners more often.

IMG_3967.JPG

And trying to take a picture in the mirror.

IMG_3970.JPG

Fun times!

On Sunday night, I decided to make my own oven-dried tomatoes. They were good but they took like 4 hours to dry out. In my opinion, I’d rather just buy sun-dried tomatoes.

IMG_4398.JPG

I also made a couscous salad.

IMG_4402.JPG

Italian Couscous Salad
Serves 2

1/2 cup whole wheat pearl couscous
1.25 cups water
1/2 green pepper, diced
1/2 cucumber, seeded and diced
1/2 tomato, seeded and diced
1 small can sliced olives
1 tbsp Ken’s Northern Italian Light Dressing
2 tbsp crumbled goat cheese

1. Cook couscous in water according to directions. I used a rice cooker, but you don’t have to.
2. Cool couscous in refrigerator and when cooled, mix with veggies.
3. Mix with salad dressing and goat cheese.
4. Eat

10 responses to “Dinner with Kristy and Laura

  1. I love nights like that where you just sit and talk forever. So relaxing!

    Have a great Thanksgiving, Lee!

  2. Sorry I missed it. I haven’t been to R. Thomas in ages. That salad looks awesome too!

  3. I’m all about sticking with our monthly dinner club idea. I had so much fun last night… I love how we all have a love for food in common, which somehow lends itself to chatting for hours! 🙂

  4. What a fun meet up 🙂 I am the SAME way…the texture of tempeh just freaks me out…I can’t eat it. Love the mirror picture. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving

  5. That Italian salad looks so yummy! Whole Foods has really good sundried tomatoes not packed in oil in their 365 brand that are fairly inexpensive.

    Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Yeah – quinoa is the bomb – we were cooking it at like the exact same time! so glad you had a good blogger dinner – love the mirror picture!

  7. Thanks for the blog comment love! Nice to meet a fellow Atlantan blogger. I went to R. Thomas several years ago, and I keep telling myself I’ll make it back, but I just haven’t yet. Definitely going to have to try the Thai Express when I do, though!