Cue the Adam Sandler Song

Last night was the first night of Hanukkah and I decided to make dinner. I grew up celebrating Hanukkah and Jason grew up celebrating Christmas. Neither one of us are religious at all, but we both like some of the traditions of our respective winter holidays and, really, we get the best of both worlds because we get to celebrate both.

My mom didn’t cook a lot when I was growing up. She had three dishes that she made and one was homemade matzo ball soup. I don’t know her exact recipe but it involved simmering a chicken carcass in water for a few days, taking it off the burner at night. Since I don’t eat chicken and I don’t want to make soup that takes two days to cook, I did the next best thing.

IMG_4550.JPG

This mix has some funky ingredients that I would normally shy away from like partially hydrogenated oil, but hey, Hanukkah is only once a year, right? Plus, it’s actually vegetarian.

The first step is to mix together the matzo meal with eggs and oil. I’d normally try to healthify something like this, but I had no idea if it’d work so I just went with what the directions called for. After everything is mixed, you chill it for 15 minutes and then roll the mixture into little balls.

IMG_4557.JPG

You want to make sure your balls are pretty small (ha!) because they’ll expand when they go in the soup. The soup is easy to make – just combine the mix with water and boil, then add the matzo balls and simmer for 20 minutes or so.

While my soup was simmering, I made potato latkes using this recipe. Here they are going into the oven.

IMG_4553.JPG

And the final meal.

IMG_4560.JPG

Traditionally, you are supposed to eat the latkes with either applesauce or sour cream, but I prefer ketchup. I never said I was a traditionalist.

Happy Hanukkah!

9 responses to “Cue the Adam Sandler Song

  1. I’ve never made either of these, but they both look great! I love making traditional dishes like this…so great for nostalgia!

  2. Happy Hanukkah!!! I was craving matzo ball soup so badly the other day, now i want it again!

  3. Happy Hanukkah, Lee! I’ve never had matzo ball soup. It looks yummy. I latkes, though. Yum.

  4. Happy Hanukkah! Those latkes look delicious 🙂

  5. Happy Hanukkah! I’m hosting a giveaway on my blog for a 25$ gift certificate to Oh! Nuts if you’d like to enter! 🙂

  6. Never tried either of these things. Latkes seem right up my alley though, I should give them a try.

  7. I cannot wait to eat latkes!! Happy Hanukkah 🙂

  8. Happy Hanukkah, Lee! I’ve never had either of those, but they look SO good. I would totally eat the latkes with ketchup, too.