I Heart Cilantro

Did you know that some people have a gene that makes cilantro taste like soap to them? Whenever I’m making something with cilantro in it, I’m reminded of my good friend Margaret, who hates the stuff. If there is a tiny bit of cilantro in anything, she can taste it. I guess she has the soap gene. I do not and when I found this recipe for Cilantro, Avocado, Tomato and Feta Salad, I thought it sounded wonderful.

IMG_4622.JPG

I planned to make this salad earlier in the week, but my avocados took forever to ripen. Avocados are one of my favorite foods, but you have to admit that they are kind of a pain in the ass. They are either not ripe or overripe. It’s hard to get that perfect middle ground. At least, for me, it is. I halved the recipe but used three avocados since mine were on the small side.

IMG_4629.JPG

I also used fat-free feta cheese. I am usually not one for fat free cheeses. I think they taste pretty bad. But when I was at Trader Joe’s this past weekend, there was a sign next to the fat-free feta that said, “The AJC recommends!” so I bought it. It was definitely a gamble considering the AJC is not the best newspaper (my heart belongs to the Washington Post), but the cheese actually was pretty good.

We’re going to South Carolina tomorrow evening to visit Jason’s parents which means that I probably won’t blog until we get back on Sunday night. It also means that I should probably put my clothes in the dryer.

Have a good weekend!

15 responses to “I Heart Cilantro

  1. Oh my that salad looks fantastic! I seriously heart cilantro as well =) Oh, and thanks for the sweet comments on my pups =) Ziggy is the golden retriever and Marley is our lab, and you guessed it, we love reggae…Bob Marley more specifically. It’s funny because Ziggy is actually our rescue and we found him on a website and knew that we had to have him because of his name =) They have been best friends ever since!

  2. Wow, I’d never heard that about cilantro. It’s one of the best herbs out there. So much flavor and freshness!

  3. Cilantro lover right here! My dad hates it though, it was always an issue when we went to Mexican restaurants. He would never go back if they put cilantro in their salsa.

  4. I’ve heard Ina Garten say she hates cilantro – the horror! It makes everything taste fresher and better! Have a good trip!

  5. Isn’t that funny? I have a friend who also HATES cilantro– I love, love, love it!

  6. ah! Are you going to be anywhere near charleston? I can eat cilantro in SMALL doses…but in large doses, it does taste like soap to me!

  7. Have a great weekend! And I love cilantro. Happy I don’t have that “soap gene”.

  8. Really?! That’s so strange. I’m not the biggest fan of cilantro, but I’ll eat it if it’s in something.

  9. I am SO happy I don’t have the soap gene. I frickin’ love cilantro and have contemplated eating it by itself on more than one occasion. 🙂

    Have fun in SC!

  10. Yum – sounds awesome. I love cilantro! Enjoy your weekend away!! 🙂

  11. That’s weird about the soap gene. I like cilantro so I guess I don’t have it!

  12. Your salad looks great! I love cilantro AND TJ’s fat-free feta cheese – I use it in lots of recipes!!

  13. wow, i am SO glad i dont have that gene. i love cilantro!

  14. Oh gosh, I love cilantro too, and I’ve always wondered how it is other people don’t like it. I had no idea about the soap gene. Very interesting! Have fun in SC. I hope you don’t get drug to Copper River. Were you able to hit up Amazing Savings? The last time I was there I was really disappointed, but its still probably worth a trip!

    Too bad I couldn’t be in the upstate this weekend. 😦