Real Meals

We went to the Farmer’s Market last night after we got home from South Carolina. Going to the Farmer’s Market just puts me in a good mood. We loaded up on all sorts of vegetables and I felt prepared for the week ahead. I hate starting out a week without a stocked fridge.

I’ve been cooking out of the Skinny Bitch Cookbook. Most of the recipes that I’ve made are pretty decent, save for a tempeh stew that I hated. Last night, we had Asian Macaroni and Cheese. Like all the recipes in this cookbook, it was vegan so obviously there wasn’t any cheese. Instead, there was a cheese like sauce made from cauliflower and other things.

IMG_4746.JPG

This recipe wasn’t bad, but truthfully, it was a bit bland. I followed it exactly and didn’t really taste much of a sauce. Tonight, I tried again, this time with Cholay Aloo which was an Indian dish made with potatoes, tomatoes and chickpeas.

IMG_4755.JPG

We both enjoyed this much more. With the main dish, we also had brown rice cooked in coconut milk and roasted broccoli. We didn’t really need rice with potato dish, but I wanted some sort of side. Side dishes are my trouble spot. I tend to make a main meal and serve it by itself and then get hungry hours later. So, I’ve been trying to make sides that go with the main course. Like a real cook!

Ever since we got back from Maryland, I’ve been making a very conscious effort to change the way I’m eating. I haven’t had an diet soda in over two weeks and before this past weekend, I hadn’t had any alcohol. I’ve also been really trying to focus on real meals with whole foods and trying to stay away from added sugar. And really, there is a huge difference in how I feel. I feel thinner. I don’t know if I actually am, because I haven’t weighed myself, but I feel sort of lighter and just better.

12 responses to “Real Meals

  1. I’ve been meaning to pick up that cookbook!

  2. I’ve been meaning to pick up that cookbook!

  3. It’s hard to give up diet soda, but you’ll feel so much better without it. I never knew I had GI “issues” until I gave it up about a year ago. I shouldn’t say I gave it up, I’ll drink it on very rare occasions, but I was a 3 can-a-day kinda girl for many, many years. The Indian dish sounds good!! Indian can be made vegan with all those delicious spices pretty easily…mac and “cheese”…not so much 🙂

  4. I haven’t caved on the soda yet, either. I’ve said (either her/email/blog/can’t remember), that when I do splurge and have one – it’s going to be a REAL coke and I’ll treat it like dessert. I just don’t want it to be a staple of my diet any longer.

    We’re trying to do the “whole” foods approach with the paleo – of course, we eat a lot more meat than you guys. We made Rabbit Stew from scratch this Sunday after the Farmer’s Market. (James/Boys ♥’d – I was really indifferent.) I’m avoiding most added sugars and most bread/pasta/etc.

  5. That Asian mac & cheese looks good, even if it was bland! Good job on being aware of everything you’re consuming- I know what you mean about just feeling better. That’s more important to me (and probably you) than what I weigh. 🙂

  6. That is awesome! I totally agree about feeling different without Diet Coke, too. It bloats me SO much, and I never realized how much until I stopped drinking it. I still will say “oh hell” sometimes and have one, but everyday is just too much for my tummy.

  7. The Cholay Aloo looks and sounds great. Yum. Good for you with the whole eating and avoiding diet soda. Some afternoons (like this one) I get huge cravings for a diet soda. I’ve been trying to ignore them but still give in sometimes!

    • I can email you the recipe if you want. I didn’t post it because of copyright issues and I couldn’t find it online. I also get diet coke cravings in the afternoon. Sometimes hot tea helps.

  8. I’ve made a cauliflower mac n cheese before that was really good!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2009/07/30/pork-chops-with-cauliflower-mac-n-cheese/

    Of course, I like anything with cheese!

  9. The food looks delish!