Christmas Eve Soup and Salad

Today has been fairly productive, considering it’s Christmas Eve. We managed to take Murphy for an hour walk, go the gym, have lunch, go to Publix and go to Pet Supermarket all before 3 pm. I had suddenly realized this morning that we hadn’t gotten Murphy a Christmas present and felt like a horrible dog mother. Obviously, that had to be remedied, hence the Pet Supermarket trip. He has to wait until tomorrow to open his gifts though.

Since we are in town for the holidays, we’ve been doing a lot of home improvement projects. Okay, if I’m being honest, Jason has been doing a lot of home improvement projects. He also built our first fire in our house and didn’t burn the house down!

IMG_4922.JPG

I’m impressed. I grew up in a condo and while we did have a fireplace, we never used it. I think my mom was scared of it, as I would be too.

While Jason made the fire, I cooked a nice Christmas Eve dinner.

IMG_4937.JPG

I think soup is probably my favorite thing to eat, especially in the winter. But I never think to serve it with something else. At least not until tonight.

IMG_4929.JPG

This was Low-Fat Spinach and Artichoke soup that Tracy posted. This is a Souper Jenny recipe which is one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta. I used to work near there and we used to go a few times a week. I think I might need to buy this cookbook. Jenny knows her soups. Thanks for the recipe, Tracy!

My salad also came from a blog. This is Quinoa with Roasted Veggie Salad from Green Plate Dinners. It was also delicious.

Now, I’m stuffed. Adding a salad to the soup, especially a grain-based one, really makes a filling meal.

Do you buy your pets Christmas presents?

5 responses to “Christmas Eve Soup and Salad

  1. I totally buy my puppies xmas gifts… they have their own stockings too! šŸ™‚

  2. Merry Christmas, Lee! I don’t have any pets to buy for, but I most definitely would – in fact, I’ve bought friends’ pets Christmas presents (but not this year, gulp). Enjoy the holidays!!

  3. I realized on Christmas Eve Eve that I didn’t have any pup presents. Waiting to the last minute did save us some cash on Christmas themed gifts for Grady!! I’m sure Murphy would still love you – gift or no gift this AM!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  4. The fire looks great! I love having a nice fire going. I definitely get Bailey Christmas presents. Extra presents, actually, since his birthday is on Christmas šŸ™‚

  5. Yeah, we bought the cats a couple of toys and they’re already bored with them (and terrified of one of them.)