It’s That Time Again

It’s that time again. It’s time to start training for my next half-marathon, the Publix Georgia Half-Marathon on March 20th. I’ve had success with Hal Higdon’s training plans, but the intermediate plan has you running five days a week and that’ s little too much running for me. So I decided to do the Runner’s World Smart Coach plan instead. This is three days of running in the beginning weeks and then four towards the end. Much better.

Today’s workout was a 5-mile tempo run. I did it on the treadmill after work. I ran the warm up at 5.5 mph, the 3 mile tempo portion at 6.0 and the cool down at 5.5 again. I actually don’t mind tempo runs because they allow me to trick myself. When I go to the gym straight after work, it’s always too crowded to stay on treadmill the entire time. They have signs posted declaring a 20 minute time limit which everyone pretty much ignores. I do too, but I do try to limit my time on the machine to 30 minutes. So, I tell myself that I only have to run 3 miles and then 2. Then, I tell myself that the warm up mile doesn’t count, so I only have to run two miles. When I get back on the ‘mill the second time, I tell myself that I’m really only running a mile, since the last mile doesn’t count.

I know it seems silly that I sign up for all these races and I’m constantly tricking myself into thinking that I’m not running as much as I am, but it just works for me!

When, I got home, I was really happy to see the crockpot on the counter.

IMG_5021.JPG

And even happier to see that Jason had filled it up and dinner was going to be ready in 20 minutes. After quickly hopping in the shower, I found Vegetarian Crock Pot Enchiladas waiting for me.

IMG_5022.JPG

This was more of a tostada pie than an enchilada, but it still tasted good and was very filling. I love it when I get home and have a meal waiting for me, courtesy of the crock pot or Jason. Or in this case, both.

This is only the second or third time that we’ve used the crockpot. It was a wedding gift. It’s funny to see what appliances you use and which ones you don’t since when you get married, you suddenly become the owner of every kitchen appliance known to man. I’d say that I use my Zojirushi Rice Cooker the most (oddly enough) and my Juicer the least. What can I say? It’s a pain to clean.

Don’t forget about my giveaway.

21 responses to “It’s That Time Again

  1. I love my workouts, but still do things like that in the midst of them. It helps me push more, I think.

  2. I’ve heard the same complaint about juicers, and I still want one nevertheless! That enchilada mess looks fantastic!

  3. Good luck on your training for the half marathon!

    I adore my crockpot. I think the wedding gift I use the most is my food scale. Love it!

  4. The beginning of training is always so fun and exciting!

    I actually use my juicer pretty frequently…and have not even unwrapped our crockpot from the box!! Sigh…I keep meaning to! Some day…

  5. I’m not a newlywed, been married forever and have an appliance graveyard in my pantry. Occasionally, I will resurrect an appliance….the most recent one was the breadmaker. I love warm bread with lots of butter on cold winter days.

    Holidays are over and I gave up the diet of white starchy carbs. It’s back to the gym and treadmill. I play the same mind games to keep me motivated, too.

  6. I love my crockpot! You should check out http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/
    The site has tons of crockpot recipes.

  7. i love crock pots! i wish i had invented them. your recipe sounds great!

  8. It seems like everyone gets a crockpot as a wedding gift! We got ours as a wedding gift as well. we don’t use it as much as we could, but it is handy for easy meals!

  9. Hmm…I could get behind some crock pot enchiladas. I use mine all the time, never use my giant 10 pound cast iron grill pan though.

  10. Yum! I love crockpot surprises!! PS. You are so funny about your “trickery” – after all those races you’ve run, you’d think you wouldn’t need it! Just goes to show that running is hard no matter how many races you’ve run huh?

  11. I used to love making chili in my crockpot when I was in college, but now I really pull it out. I LOVE cooking and it takes a lot of the fun away when it does all the work for you! The opposite of how most people think, I know πŸ™‚

  12. I used to love making chili in my crockpot when I was in college, but now I rarely pull it out. I LOVE cooking and it takes a lot of the fun away when it does all the work for you! The opposite of how most people think, I know πŸ™‚

  13. dreadmill running….yuck. But I’m stuck with that until the weather gets better.
    I have a torrid love affair with my crock-pot. My husband understands, thank goodness. I got a new slow-cooker cookbook which I needed. I tend to stick to 3 things for the crock-pot: Roast, beef stew, and chili. I get so tired of those so I need to branch out. That recipe looks great!

  14. I am definitely copying that recipe – it looks delicious! I love easy crock pot meals, especially Mexican ones.

  15. Oooh I love my slowcooker. I actually have a meal planned for tomorrow in my slow cooker. I’ve found that if I dump all the ingredients in the pot the night before and put it in the fridge. The next morning it’s super easy to remove from the fridge and start cooking without all the prep before leaving for work. The enchiladas look delicious. I love Mexican food πŸ™‚

    Can you watch a show and run? I watched True Blood on my ipod (about 50 minutes) and I could typically do 6ish miles during the episode. I told myself I could only watch it if I was running…perfect motivation!

  16. i have the same crock pot! love the program mode. and those enchis look so damn good.

  17. Ughhh I hate the treadmill! Unless Saved By The Bell is on πŸ˜‰

  18. The juicer IS a pain to clean! I still love it though. I need to use it more! I agree, running five times a week for an entire training cycle is way too much. Three to four is definitely ideal for me!

    Happy new year! πŸ™‚

  19. oh my gosh, those enchiladas look crazy good!