Hometown Tourist

Atlanta is not a very good city for tourists, in my opinion. There really isn’t too much to do. I’ve actually never done much of the few touristy things that we do have, so when my friends Mariam and Ben, who are visiting from London, wanted to see some of the sites, it was kind of a new experience for me too.

We took the Marta (our crappy subway system) downtown.

IMG_5043.JPG

We walked through Centennial Olympic Park. The Chick Fil-A bowl was that night at the GA Dome so the area was completely packed with people decked out in college football gear.

IMG_5044.JPG

Our first stop was the World of Coke. It was interesting, although I have to say that I don’t have a strong desire to go back. The best part was the tasting room at the end of the tour, where you get to try 64 different types of soda from other countries. They were mostly awful. Mariam and I both felt kind of sick after trying some of them.

IMG_5058.JPG

Our next stop was the Georgia Aquarium, which is the biggest aquarium in the world. I actually have been there before, several years ago, but it was for a work event that I was helping with, so I didn’t really get to take my time and look at the fish then.

IMG_5047.JPG

IMG_5067.JPG

IMG_5105.JPG

IMG_5116.JPG

After being touristed out, we met up with some friends at a bar in Decatur to celebrate New Years Eve. All in all, a very fun day with old friends!

8 responses to “Hometown Tourist

  1. omg! those sodas at the world of coke are so gross! i remember being so happy to try them all out and then….ewwww! πŸ™‚ the aquarium looks cool though. i’ve never been to it.

  2. Hahaha I’d be totally down to try all the grody soda. And I love aquariums! My boyfriend is from Atlanta and wants to take me to visit, so I’ll have to request these as stops when we go!

  3. It’s funny how we don’t take advantage of our towns until we have tourists! San Diego is all about tourists, but I hardly ever do anything touristy, including visiting the museums, even though I work at one and get in free to all the others!

  4. Hey Lee! Glad that you are having fun playing tourist. πŸ™‚ I am getting flashbacks of my awesome visit to Centennial Olympic park.

  5. You can also tour Margaret Mitchell’s house, or visit Stone Mountain.

  6. When we have visitors I love taking them on tours of NYC. It also gives me a chance to do touristy things don’t normally do. Sounds like you had a good time doing the same! Happy new yr.

  7. Next time: Margaret Mitchell house, Fernbank, High Museum of Art, Atlanta Botanical Gardens, or CNN tour. One thing I want to do is take the glass elevator up to the top of the Westin for a 360 degree view of the city. πŸ™‚

    Believe it or not though, I still haven’t been to the aquarium…even though I live less than 3 miles away from it. 😦 Did you enjoy it?