Doing More

I’m not looking forward to getting back into normal life tomorrow. I’ve had a fun weekend though, so that helps, I guess. Like I said before, my friends Mariam and Ben are visiting from London (until tomorrow). Mariam and I went to high school together and haven’t seen each other in eight years so it’s been really fun to catch up and to meet her husband.

They did more sightseeing today but I opted to stay home to get some of my Sunday things done. My Sunday things included going to the gym and Kroger and doing laundry. I feel really unprepared for the upcoming week if I don’t have clean clothes and groceries in the house.

I was supposed to run 6 miles today. I just wasn’t feeling it. It was nice out too, but my legs felt like lead and I went to the gym and did the elliptical instead. I’ll try to do the 6 mile run tomorrow, I suppose.

While I was ellipticalling, I was thinking about New Years Resolutions. 2010 was a very, very busy year for me. While a lot of what happened was great, there was also a lot of stress involved so all I really want for 2011 is a calmer life. I thought about typical resolutions and how they mostly are comprised of stopping things. Stop drinking so much, stop eating badly etc. Instead of coming up with resolutions to stop doing things, I thought I’d go the opposite direction and come up with resolutions that include doing more of things that I like to do.

• I want to do more yoga. I enjoy it while I’m there. I mostly don’t go because I’m not that good at it and the yoga studio is a 20 minute drive away.

• This is sort of silly for a resolution, but I want to see more movies. I really enjoy going to the movies and it’s something that Jason and I really don’t do that much. Mostly because of his work schedule, I guess. I saw 127 Hours last night with Mariam and Ben. It was really good. Super intense. Besides liking the movie, although like is an odd choice for that movie because of the subject matter, it really reaffirmed my love for movies in general.

• Eat more fruit. I like fruit! There is no reason my fruit intake should be as low as it is. I want to choose fruit for a snack, especially if I’m snacking just to snack and I’m not even very hungry.

• Call my Grandma more. I only have one grandparent that’s still alive and she’s 89 years old. I feel bad that I don’t call her as often as I should. I really dislike talking on the phone in general and that’s really why I don’t do it, but it makes her so happy to hear my voice that I really need to call her more often.

What kind of things would you like to do more of in 2011?

19 responses to “Doing More

  1. I really like that idea. It will probably be more motivating too because its more positive.

  2. I like your list – simple and hits all of the important parts of your life! You can do it. I need to talk to my 94-year-old grandma more too.

  3. I don’t think any resolutions are ‘silly.’ It’s important to prioritize what it most meaningful to you so if seeing more movies is, then go for it! 🙂

    I want to be more outgoing and social in 2011 — a lifelong task, I know.

  4. Hey Lee, great resolutions. I’m doing more too – more socializing, more reading, more running!

    I’m definitely with you – its going to be hard getting back to work (and a five day week) tomorrow! Good luck! 🙂

  5. I intend to eat more seafood in 2011. I LOVE all things seafood but hardly ever make it for myself!

  6. I made a list of “intentions” for the year that include things like drinking more water, eating more fish, getting more sleep, and strengthening my relationships (definitely thinking of my grandparents with this one).

  7. Movies are definitely up there for me. I can quote every Lord of the Rings movie, but haven’t even seen an original Star Wars film. Shame, shame.

  8. Gosh, I need to call my grandma more often – actually, I don’t ever call her now. 😦 And I need to visit her more, too. She is 2.5 hours away, but I just need to resolve to do it as she’s my only living grandparent…

  9. Hooray for more yoga! It can feel awkward at first if you aren’t used to it but once you do it consistently for a little bit you will fall in love, I promise! I love that you are going to talk to your grandmother more. Too cute.

  10. Great goals! I wish I would see more movies too. We’re the same – one of the main reasons I don’t do more yoga is convenience/location factor.

  11. Now I’m thinking I should call my grandparents…

  12. So with you on the grandparents thing. I hate the phone too, makes me super uncomfortable, but they get so amped when one of us calls them. I’m really just the worst granddaughter ever.

  13. Love this! I definitely like the idea of making a list of things you WANT to do rather than things you want to stop doing. I do have 1 ‘stop’ one, but it’s buying more books. I have to stop. LOL

    Glad you had a great weekend. I agree – I don’t want to go back to work tomorrow. 😦

  14. I need to eat more veggies! I’m usually okay on fruit, but I don’t eat nearly enough vegetables.

  15. what a great idea! Such a positive one and easy to do too…especially the one about your grandma. I feel the same…I have two living grandparents left and they mean the WORLD to me.

  16. Love these resolutions – such a good idea to focus on doing things vs. stopping things. What yoga studio do you go to? I think I’m going to start going to Atlanta hot yoga soon.

    • I’ve been to Atlanta Hot Yoga and Decatur Hot Yoga before. I have some classes left at Atlanta Hot Yoga though. Actually, a few other bloggers and I were thinking of going next Tuesday if you are interested in joining us.

      • I am definitely not good enough to be going to a class with other people yet! Give me a few months and I’m there though 🙂 Let me know next time you go 🙂