Frittata Fail

Jason sent me an email today saying that he’d bought two dozen farm fresh eggs from someone at his office. Seeing as though we already had 9 eggs in the fridge, I knew that we needed something eggy for dinner. My thoughts immediately went to a frittata.

I didn’t want to go to the grocery store, so I searched for one that had the ingredients that I had at home – potatoes, mushrooms and, of course, eggs.

I found this recipe for Potato-Mushroom Frittata. I decided to make it without the ham.

I followed the recipe by first browning the potatoes.

IMG_5117.JPG

And then cooking the mushrooms and the onions and peppers.

IMG_5119.JPG

And then mixing in the eggs.

IMG_5121.JPG

Everything was fine at this point.

IMG_5124.JPG

But then the problems started. The recipe said to cook for two minutes and then cover and cook for three more. I did that and the top was not set at all. So I cooked it longer. I think you can see where this is going.

IMG_5127.JPG

This was not exactly golden brown. Oops. Fortunately, with a little help from my knife, it was salvageable.

IMG_5134.JPG

IMG_5130.JPG

I’m going to chill out and watch tv. Today wasn’t the best of days. We had some layoffs at work. I wasn’t affected but it’s still scary when it happens at your company, you know?

18 responses to “Frittata Fail

  1. Hey! At least you could eat some of it! πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about your day. 😦 Hang in there. Tomorrow will be better. Promise.

  2. That is very scary. I’m glad you didn’t get cut. It’s hard out there and makes me soooo thankful for my work. I love experimenting with eggs and that recipe looks like a really good combination! The most recent egg recipe I’ve made was just simple egg omelette with spinach with gorgonzola on top. The husband (who begs for meat) loved it! I would like to try this because the potatoes and mushrooms sound great!

  3. Aw, I hate when that happens. As long as something tastes good, I’ll eat it no matter what the finished product looks like, but burned food can sometimes be hard to salvage.

  4. Aw, boo– I hate recipe fails 😦

  5. “something eggy.”

    frittatas are the perfect thing for that! we actually have an overabundance too. maybe I should whip one up?

  6. I’ve been through layoffs a few times. It IS scary and stressful. Hang in there. PS – I think that frittata looks pretty good! I might have to try it πŸ™‚

  7. I’m sorry to hear about the layovers. My company went through a round last February and it can definitely be terrifying!

  8. I have issues to get egg-dishes to cook in the recipe’s allotted time. I usually cut the heat back a bit and just assume it’s going to take longer than they say it will. (Cutting the heat back usually cuts back the excessive browning on the outside of egg dishes.)

    Glad you were exempt from the layoffs. Happy Tuesday!

  9. I baked a pie the other day that took more than twice as long as the recipe said it would. I was sure the custard had turned into scrambled eggs by the time I pulled it out but luckily it was fine. Your frittata looks really yummy, glad you could save it!

  10. aw girl! I’m so sorry to hear about the layoffs, but super glad you weren’t impacted. I haven’t made a frittata – they always look for so yummy. Great job on the salvaging.

  11. I’ve never been good at making frittatas…or omelets…apparently eggs are my weak culinary point.

  12. I’ve only made a frittata once and it took awhile to set up….I hate cooking fails (I’ve had a shit ton). I’m a salvager, too, though. πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry to hear about the layoffs at work….I definitely know how that puts a dark cloud over everything (we’re had several here). But the good thing is that most of my co-workers who were laid off go on to find something even better!

  13. Sorry to hear about the stressful day. Its never fun when that kind of stuff happens.

    For the frittata, I usually put my oven on to broil (or pretty high) and once the bottom is set I slide the pan in the oven and it cooks the top in no time! It makes perfect frittatas every time!

  14. Hey at least it was salvageable! Lesson learned.

    Sorry to hear about the layoffs 😦 But at least now they are over and you know you weren’t one of them. Tomorrow will be a better day.

  15. Oh yes…do I know about layoffs. I’ve been through LOTS at my job and it is very scary. And sad. Keep you chin up!

    That frittata looks great to me! I like my food “well done” like that.

  16. Glad your job is safe – that is terrifying.
    I always finish my frittatas in the oven. I think it cooks it much more evenly.

  17. I have always wanted to try a frittata – but this is why I’m scared! LOL I see a new frittata in like every Williams-Sonoma catalog I get and I’m so tempted! BTW, love your comment about Ryan Kwanten! =) I’m pretty sure he’s the hottest guy on the show =) Have you seen him in the Gap campaign? =)

  18. Normally when cooking a frittata, you should finish it in the oven to prevent that from happening πŸ˜‰