All Kinds of Random Thoughts

I was a pescatarian, meaning I only ate fish and seafood and no other meat, for something like six years. Then I briefly ate chicken again, went fully vegetarian and finally settled on pescatarianism again.

But I’ve noticed something. I seem to have lost the taste for seafood. Two of the things that I really missed when I was vegetarian were sushi and mussels. I have had sushi a handful of times since then and it seems like half the time I feel sick in the middle of the night and the other half, I just don’t like it as much.

My friend Jamie and I went to Twains on Thursday night for dinner and I ordered mussels.

IMG_3998.JPG

Granted, it might not have been the best idea to order mussels from a brewery. But I didn’t think about that and ordered them anyway and they were gross. Now, I know that mussels can be bad and maybe these were, but I’m seeing a pattern here when it comes to eating seafood. I don’t really like it.

Maybe I’m destined to be a vegetarian. Or maybe I should stop trying to label my eating habits.

We’re supposed to get a huge snowstorm here tomorrow night. Huge being 6 inches. Considering the fact that Atlanta pretty much shuts down when we get one inch of snow, it’ll be really interesting to see what happens if we actually get six. Honestly, I’m a bit apprehensive. Not because I’m worried about the actual snow, I like snow, but because if it does snow, Jason will have to go into work and work some crazy amount of hours (he works for the news station) and I worry about him driving and all of that. Plus, I won’t get to see him much. It’s put me in a bad mood all day.

Despite my mood, I decided to risk it and go grocery shopping. Surprisingly, Kroger wasn’t that much of a madhouse. It was busier than a typical Saturday night, but not too bad considering the Snowpocolypse that we’re supposed to be getting. While other people filled their carts with bread and milk, I filled mine with Lee emergency necessities – refried beans, salsa, Vitamin Water Zero, Brussels Sprouts, Broccoli, Veggie Burgers and diet coke for Jason.

When I got home, I realized that I hadn’t planned very well and didn’t really have much to make a proper dinner, so I made a Mexican casserole of sorts.

IMG_5180.JPG

Cheese, refried beans, corn, salsa, baked chips, avocado and olives. I realize that while this isn’t particularly high in calories, it’s not the most healthy of meals. Where are my vegetables? I should have cooked my emergency brussels sprouts and broccoli to go with it.

20 responses to “All Kinds of Random Thoughts

  1. I am so nervous about going to Kroger in the morning! Definitely going though – I don’t want to be stuck! I really think ATL is going to be shut down for at least Monday and Tuesday – I can’t wait!

  2. Giving up meat was no problem for me. Giving up fish: nearly impossible. Good luck with the snow! I’m a little worried snow/ice in DC will delay tomorrow night’s flight…

  3. I don’t label myself by the foods that I eat. I find it’s much less stressful to not always have to think about fitting your cravings into a box. If I want nothing but veggies one week, fine, but if I want a big fat juicy steak (doesn’t happen often) the next, then that’s fine too!

    Love your “Snowpocolypse”! We have the same thing happen around here when they call for more than an inch of snow. Lately, the weatherman has been playing with the emotions of these poor snow-phobiacs and saying every week that we will get up to 4 inches of snow. Has it happened? Not once!

  4. I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow afternoon at my normal time. I might just be insane. It will be interesting to see how much actually happens.

  5. mmm that mexican casserole looks great! I spent the afternoon at the local co-op buying things I clearly didn’t need but wanted to stock up on.
    Love your blog and it’s cute name too!
    Meri

  6. I actually find that mussels at a brewery are often really good – I like the combo of the mussels steamed in beer. Sorry you didn’t have better luck 😦

  7. Hey Lee! Did you get your six inches? We got about that throughout the day and overnight yesterday. I’m pretty touch and go about fish. I love scallops, but I’m allergic to fin fish and so it can be tricky not to feel “icky” (ha) with cross contamination. I find I usually get queezy after sushi even if it doesn’t have fin fish in it. TMI? Hehe sorry.

  8. I’m all about the “free will” – you I think you should stop labeling yourself!
    If you feel like eating sea food, or raw fish on sushi – do it!
    Labels are lame 😉

  9. 6 inches in Atlanta?! Wow!!! You should try the sugar on snow 🙂 Since becoming vegetarian I’ve been dreaming of scallops. They are my fave seafood.

  10. I love Twains! I think they have good hummus, if I remember correctly…

    Yeah, I think it’s a good idea to avoid labels. I’m mostly vegan, but that doesn’t mean I won’t have a slice of my mom’s homemade pie or bite of Mark’s famous ice cream! 🙂

    I reallllly hope my office closes tomorrow because of snow issues!! Crossing my fingers!

  11. I’ve found that when I stop eating certain things, they become less appealing to me…(ie, chicken, pork, steak). I’m not certain why that is.

    Whoa for 6 inches! In Cola, I think we’re supposed to get 2?? Hopefully that means….NO WORK!!!

  12. Your snowstorm essentials sound like mine – I went to YDFM this morning and bought hummus, pita, broccoli, brussels sprouts, turnip greens (going to make a batch of the Taqueria Del Sol greens!), and citrus for cocktails.

    I had such a craving for something that wasn’t a carb laden veggie dish that I had pescatarian apps at Kevin Rathbun Steak – amazing salad with crab & some seared tuna. The thought of anything else, though…at least right now…makes me a little oogy!

  13. Do you like Salmon? That is one seafood that I could never “not like”. SO GOOD 😉

  14. That casserole looks so good!! I don’t like seafood at all. I am allergic to shellfish but I try to like the other stuff and I just can’t (cept for canned Tuna and fried calamari!)

  15. I think you are right that it’s best to just not label your eating habits. You’ll probably end up eating less seafood if you don’t like it, but if you say you “aren’t allowed” to have it- you may want it more haha.

  16. 6 inches is a lot of snow for Atlanta! Good luck in it!

  17. Oh my goodness, the Kroger and Publix in my part of town were insane! I’m glad it wasn’t too crazy for you. Hopefully it won’t be as bad as they’re predicting. I appreciate the work Jason does, and pray the roads stay safe.

    You’d think people were hunkering down for armageddon. The shelves were empty. They were bring milk and eggs out of the back and putting them directly in prople’s carts.