Snow Day!

Can I just preface this post by saying that Jason left for work at 1:30 yesterday afternoon and IS STILL AT WORK!! I actually think that he’s napping there right now since he’s been up for more than 24 hours and the roads are still pretty bad.

Anyway. The snow began last night around eight.

IMG_5233.JPG

Murphy and I went outside to investigate. Murphy is from Georgia, so he’s not very familiar with snow. He didn’t know what to think of it.

IMG_4012.JPG

It kept snowing into the night and when I woke up this morning, I knew that I wasn’t going to work. The whole city had basically shut down. Laugh if you must, but everything was closed – malls, Whole Foods, the city buses.

Murphy discovered that he did, in fact, like the snow.

IMG_5246.JPG

IMG_5257.JPG

Being stuck in the house in my sweatpants is pretty nice, but I want my husband back! I don’t know when he’ll actually get home.

I was tagged a couple times to fill out some surveys (surveys? how very myspace of me, but I don’t know what else to call them) and since I don’t have anything food or workout related to talk about, here you go.

Liz from Liz Runs DC tagged me to answer the following:

Four TV Shows I watch
Parenthood
Intervention
Modern Family
The Real World

Four Words/Phrases I use too much
I’m tired
My stomach hurts
Dude
I don’t want to go to work

Four Things I’ve Learned from the Past
Running a marathon is hard (I’ll keep Liz’s answer here because I’ve learned it too.)
Be Yourself
Losing weight is not going to make you happier. You are still you.
Sweet tea vodka is the devil

Four Things I’m Looking Forward to
Yoga with Kristy and Laura tomorrow (if the snow lets up)
Dinner Club dinner on Wednesday
My mom visiting this weekend
Taking the wallpaper down in the hallway

Four Things I Love About Winter
Sweatpants
Hot Chocolate
Skiing and snowboarding (although I rarely go)
hats

Four Newest Blogs Added to my Reader
Peas and Crayons
Purple Bird Blog
Health on the Run
The Hungry Runnner Girl

Four Bloggers I’m Passing This To
Tracy at Kitchen Ambition
Kelly at Fitting Back In
Marie at Journey to Body Zen
Holly at the Balance Broad

And if that wasn’t enough random stuff about me that you really didn’t need to know, I was also tagged by Jessica to answer the following questions:

How many days a week do you workout? 5-6. Sometimes 4, but usually not.

What is your favorite ab move? Favorite? That would imply that I like ab moves!

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be? Eric from True Blood.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live and why? I have always seen myself living in Portland, Oregon (OMG, I just wrote Portlanta, hahaha). I have never been there, but for some reason, I think I’d like it. Or London. I studied there for a semester in college and loved it.

What is your favorite beauty product you can’t go a day without? Conditioner. I have curly hair so it’s very necessary. Or a tweezer. I am fastidious about my eyebrows being groomed.

Do you have any pets? If so what kind? If you don’t what animal would you love to have?

IMG_5203.JPG

He’s a golden retriever.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of you life, what would it be? Hmm, either hummus or pizza. Or maybe hummus on pizza.

What does your family and friends think about your blog? My family doesn’t know about it. Not for any particular reason, but now that I’ve had it for three years, it’s weird to suddenly tell them. My friends all like it, but I think that most of them don’t read it regularly.

What is one sport you haven’t tried, but would love to get involved in? I’ve never been cross country skiing. I think that would be fun.

Red wine or white wine? Definitely white. I don’t like red wine at all.

(Bonus question) What is your favorite workout memory? Running my first half-marathon with my dad and beating him by 1 second at the end.

Okay, I’m done now. What’s your favorite beauty product?

29 responses to “Snow Day!

  1. Wow– crazy that Jason has been at work that long!! I hope he gets to come home soon (if he can make it?!?).

  2. I was watching the weather channel at work earlier & thinking of you! My favorite beauty products are Carmex, brown mascara & an eyelash curler. I also really love TJ’s Midsummer Night Cream!

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous. Love the snow. We might get some tomorrow. I’ll take a snow day if I can get one! 😀

  4. You guys really did get hit!! I was thinking you may get a snowday when I read your facebook post asking the snow to bring it on. 🙂

    I think my favorite beauty product is either my cetaphil face lotion or mascara. Its hard to go without them. 🙂

  5. Dogs in the snow are so cute!! On the rare occasions we get snow our town shuts down too! Nobody knows how to drive in it!

  6. That stinks for Jason! Hope the roads aren’t too bad when he travels home.

    Your dog is adorable!

  7. That picture of Murphy frolicking about is adorable!

  8. Favorite beauty product? Moisturizer. It’s goes on first thing in the morning and again just before going to bed. Every. Single. Day. Many days it’s the only beauty product that goes on my face (I can get quite lazy.)

  9. I would love a snow day! Enjoy it.

  10. Poor Jason being stuck at work! That sucks. But glad you get a snow day.
    We have a lot in common – I ❤ Eric from TB, pizza and hummus.

  11. I canNOT believe he is still at work. I hope you get your husband back soon!

    I love reading/doing surveys. 🙂

  12. Here in GA, we got a lot of snow as well. My dog loves it! I do think it’s funny that the whole state shuts down because of the snow. I lived in Rochester, New York for a while and handled it beautifully. However, Georgia is not equipped to handle this weather.

  13. I can’t believe that he’s still at work! I hope that the roads get better so we can to yoga tomorrow… no cancellations yet.

    My favorite beauty product is Oil of Olay SPF 15 moisturizer. I use it 2x/day and can’t imagine living without it!

  14. Wow! You did get a lot of snow. I can relate to your town being shut down because of the snow. The same thing happens in Missouri. Aren’t surveys fun? It’s nice to have time to fill them out!

  15. Mascara. Nothing makes your eyes look better.

    Also high five to the sweet tea vodka being th e devil. ohhh the multiple lessons too much of that has taught me ha.

  16. Yoga!!! So excited! …if we can make it there, that is…

    Favorite beauty product —>mascara. I think it makes me look awake or something.

  17. HA! Thank you for playing along in my survey “tag” – wasn’t it fun to do, especially on a snow day?? I wish I had one! But my wish may soon be granted…snow is heading our way on Wed, smack dab during the morning commute. oh shucks, guess I’ll have to work from home 😉 PS. Murphy is so cute in the snow!!

  18. Oh my gosh your poor husband!! 😦 I can’t imagine being stuck at work for that long. In fact, I think work would be one of the last places I’d want to be snowed in at. I hope he got home tonight!

    I think I use “I don’t want to go to work” way too often too. And as a fellow curly-haired girl, I can definitely attest to the importance of conditioner!!

    Love the pics of Murphy! 🙂

  19. Haha, I see you’re on the Eric camp! I kind of like Bill, though he can be a douche at times. I think my fave is Lafayette.

    Aw, I hope your husband makes it home safe and sound soon!

  20. No need to laugh at snow in the South! We don’t have the equipment to deal with it! Frozen bridges in Charleston yesterday? A disaster! Josh’s parents got stuck in Atlanta. Pure craziness. Love those surveys. I think I say I don’t want to go to work or do work too much too 😉

  21. Things are still shut down here, too. We have maybe 5 snow trucks in this area. I was worried about Stephen being stuck, but they actually closed the steel mill down and let them go home. That NEVER happens. He almost got stuck because they started closing down all the bridges. We had tons of ice, but very little snow 😦

    Favorite beauty product–I’m with you. Conditioner OR my hair dryer with the diffuser thingy on it. I use it for about 5 min. to get all the water off my head. Curly hair is a curse in the summer, so I guess my third would be ponytail holders!

  22. I make fun of Southerners and their reaction to snow. At least I used to. Until I spun out on highway 77 yesterday because they only salted ONE LANE!!

  23. Have you made hummus on pizza before? I put edamamme on pizza before and it was an epic disaster!!! If you’ve done it, share the recipe! I find once I cook the hummus the yummy taste dissappears. And PS- I saw “My Stomach hurts” maybe 500 times a day. haha

  24. First of all – I love your dog. 🙂 I think i mentioned in a comment before that my Mom has a Golden and I just think they are the greatest dogs. So so cute. Second of all – Eric from True Blood. Yes, yes, yes. Delicious.

  25. Hummus pizza is glorious! Have you tried Trader Joe’s Tomato Basil hummus? Perfect for pizza 🙂 I would love to meet Eric from True Blood too. And I’ve always been interested in Portland too! One of my friends just moved there and she loves it! She says its a vegan/hippie heaven (she’s vegan not so much hippie). I also love Denver.

    Hmm, I love my Mac mascara. I almost always wear mascara because then I look awake.