Positive Splits

I was determined to go to the gym and get a run in tonight. I hadn’t run since Sunday which doesn’t exactly bode well for half-marathon training. Fortunately, I’m still early into my training plan, so missed runs aren’t that big of a deal.

I missed a 2 mile easy run and a 5 mile tempo run. At first I was going to do the 5 miler, but I realized that if I did that, by the time I got home, it would be well after 7. Jason and I had plans so I didn’t want to get home too late. So, instead, I compromised and did 3 miles. But not just any 3 miles. I did them fast!

I did the first mile at 7mph, the second at 6.5mph and the last at 6mph. While 6 is not too hard for me, 6.5 and 7 are so I was pretty proud of myself for keeping up the pace. When I run outside, I usually run negative splits without trying to do it on purpose. It just takes me a while to get into the groove of things. But here, I did the opposite. Positive splits, if they’re even called that, seem to be much easier on the treadmill. It’s like there’s a reward at the end of each mile, a slower mile that follows.

Every time I run faster than my normal pace, I realize that, while it is hard, it’s not impossible. I can, in fact, run an 8:34 mile. Sure, I feel more tired than if I’m running a 10:20 mile, but I don’t feel like I’m sprinting and about to die. The tricky part is making myself add speed to my runs as they get longer. Because a speedy 3-miler is much easier than a speedy 6-miler. I guess that’s what actual speed workouts, with recovery laps, are for.

Ever since I got into running, I’ve always been way more interested in distance than speed. I’m a decent endurance runner. But, I really would like to become a faster one.

So, Jason and my big plans for the night? Get ready for some excitement.

IMG_4037.JPG

IMG_4038.JPG

First we went to Lettuce Souprise You. All of my friends make fun of me for liking this place, but it’s a big salad bar, what’s not to like? Fortunately, Jason likes it too and we often meet for lunch there since it’s sort of in the middle of our offices. However, tonight, we decided to go for dinner.

And then a trip to Trader Joe’s. We used to live 3 miles from ol’ TJ’s and I used to go all the time, but since we’ve moved to Tucker, we don’t go quite as often – maybe once a month. As we were walking in, I told Jason, “Salad and Trader Joe’s. This is like my perfect Friday night.” Sad thing is that it’s true!

22 responses to “Positive Splits

  1. Haha! That would be my idea of a Friday night too! In fact, Stephen and I are driving over an hour to go to TJ’s in Charlotte tomorrow. The name of that salad/soup place is ridiculous! But if it’s a huge salad bar, I know I’d like it.

  2. I kinda love your friday night! I went Ice skating and to Taco Bell!

  3. How cute is the name of that restaurant?! That would be an ideal Friday night for me too! The closest TJ’s to me is about 50 miles away so it’s always a treat to go!

  4. Big salad bars are always good. Unless of course they have nasty, old produce.

    And sounds like an awesome training run compromise. Running at 6 consistently will be a challenge for me!

  5. Great run, Lee! My plan has some speed work built in to the runs so I can’t avoid it! πŸ™‚ You can definitely do it. You are tougher than you think!

    It sounds like that would be my perfect Friday night, too! πŸ™‚

  6. Nice job speed demon! You’re doing awesome! And of course I heart a trip to TJ’s.

  7. Ha! That sounds like fun to me too. I went to one of those when I was a kid and tried green goddess dressing for the first time and fell in love.

  8. In the cold months that sounds like a good friday night!!!!

  9. Nice speedy run!! I’m with you – I usually focus on distance vs. speed but am trying to get juuust a little bit faster. I know I’ll never be a FAST runner (I don’t think it’s in my DNA to be honest) but to run a little faster than my ‘usual’ would make me happy, ya know?

  10. Hahaha! That restaurant name just totally cracked Mark and me up!

    Awesome run!!! I’ve always been a bigger fan of distance over speed, too. It definitely feels good to kick the speed up a notch sometimes though!

  11. Is it sad that I think that sounds like a great Friday night, too? Oh the things foodies like…

  12. I can definitely make a night out of a Trader Joe’s trip πŸ™‚ Great job on the run!

  13. Salad and TJ’s is totally not sad!! πŸ™‚

  14. MMMM I love a good salad bar!! Way to go on your run! its good to be flexible with your training otherwise it stops being fun πŸ™‚

  15. I am totally with you – speed isn’t my thing, but distance is. I am trying to get back towards it and did a pretty good interval run yesterday but today, I feel like my whole body hurts! I think I threw myself into it a wee bit much πŸ˜‰ I love big salads too, FTR πŸ™‚

  16. I love big salad bars! Have you ever been to a “sweet tomato” buffet style dinner? they have them in chicago not sure where else but they are great!

  17. Hah, I spent my Friday night reading on my couch with my cat and proceeded to fall asleep at 10pm. Your night sounds thrilling compared to mine. I also love massive salad bars! I wish there were more in the DC area…you never feel guilty for eating too many veggies.

  18. Also CONGRATS on the positive splits!!