Home Improvement Weekend

There are a lot of things that need to do with our new house to really make it ours. Up near the top of the list was a new kitchen sink. Our old sink sucked.

IMG_5389.JPG

Not only was it shallow, but what is the point of that second, even shallower basin on the left? I mean, we have a dishwasher so it’s not like we need that space to soak the dishes. It just makes the regular part of the sink tiny.

Aside from the sink, I also wanted to get rid of some wallpaper. Fortunately, our house is only wallpapered in the hallway and one of the bathrooms and the paper isn’t too offensive.

IMG_5386.JPG

My mom came to visit for the weekend. She’s really good at home improvement stuff and seems to like doing it, so she offered to help. While my mom and I took wallpaper down, Jason worked on the sink.

IMG_5415.JPG

And Murphy worked on being cute.

IMG_5414.JPG

The wallpaper removal too much longer than I thought. Whoever put it up originally used a lot of paste. We found that the key to easy removal is to use a lot of water to get the walls wet. You really don’t even need the chemical wallpaper removal, just water.

We were tired and hungry and decided to order Chinese delivery. By chance, I found a really good Chinese place near my house. I think having a go-to Chinese restaurant is important! I’m much more likely to order Chinese delivery than pizza, although that happens too.

IMG_5412.JPG

Back to the wallpaper I go. We’re almost done.

18 responses to “Home Improvement Weekend

  1. Oh how I remember soaking walls to remove wallpaper. We had to do that in a lot of rooms in our house. Such a pain!

  2. Good luck. removing wallpaper sucks! Last time I did it my hands were so dry. yuck!

  3. I actually really enjoy that kind of home improvement stuff. I know, I’m crazy.

  4. Wallpaper is THEE WORST. God speed, my child…

    Tell Murphy to get to work already πŸ™‚

  5. good luck with the wallpaper- YIKES!

  6. Awesome projects – look forward to seeing the results! πŸ™‚

    Yum – i heart chinese!

  7. That broccoli and shrimp sure does look great. I can’t wait to see the finished product of all your hard work!

  8. Yay for productivity! I’m so lazy, haha, I think if I owned a home I’d be in trouble.

  9. Good luck πŸ™‚ I bet the finish product is going to be so worth it!

  10. You’re a weekend warrior, Lee! πŸ™‚ Hope the rest of the removal went well!

  11. Sounds like a productive weekend!! It’s funny because back in the day, my mom used to be a wallpaper pro. People would pay her to help put it up in their house. Now everyone wants it taken down…funny how those trends change.

    Good luck getting the rest of it off!!

  12. I really hate removing wallpaper…it’s not too bad if it hasn’t been there for a zillion years, but I have done it in my parent’s old house and it was caked on there so good, it was peeling off the dry wall! It’s SO worth it when it’s done, though. You were super productive this weekend!

  13. I HATE wallpaper!! I had a horrible experience with it when I was a homeowner (sniff…I miss being one! One day I will again!), and vow never to buy a house that has it (LOL) again. Some great improvements under way! love it.

  14. Can’t wait to see the finished products! A new sink is VERY exciting!! Love the picture of Murphy. We always tell Frank to grow some thumbs so he can help πŸ˜‰

    Thank you for the congrats πŸ™‚

  15. Ugh wallpaper is the wors thing EVER. I will never use it again. It’s just as annyoing to get it up as it is to rip it down.

  16. Wow! Murphy did a GREAT job at his job. πŸ˜‰

    Ugh! Removing wallpaper is the worst. Our whole house was covered in it…blah! Good luck!!

  17. Wallpaper sounds complicated…as does painting. I’m glad that I still rent. Good luck with the home improvements!

  18. I just stumbled across your blog for the first time. If you’re still trying to remove wallpaper, or just for future knowledge – try using a steamer. http://newyork.classicpartyrentals.com/assets/6999/steamer.jpg?1206400901 something along those lines. That’s the ONLY thing that worked for me in my house.