Blogger Yoga

For three weeks now, Laura, Kristy, Alayna and I have been planning to go to hot yoga and for two of the three weeks, it did not work out. First we all got snowed in, then the studio changed their schedule, but last night we were finally able to make it to the 7:30 Hot Class.

I’ve only been to hot yoga a handful of times. But every time I go, I really like it, specifically how I feel afterward. I don’t really know the different styles of yoga yet, but the one we went to is labeled a hot class and is 90 minutes long. Each pose is done twice. I don’t know if it’s Bikram style or not. I stood behind Laura, which was helpful because I could see what she was doing. I’ve made the mistake of standing in the front of a yoga class before which isn’t that great for a newbie since I don’t know the names of the poses. I really would like to explore different styles of yoga to see which I enjoy the most.

The one problem, or more of an annoyance, with the class is that it’s at an awkward time. It’s at 7:30. I get off work at 5:30, so I basically drive home which takes roughly half an hour and hang out at home for 45-50 minutes. I’m used to eating dinner pretty much as soon as I get home, so I didn’t really know what to do. I channeled my inner Kris Carr and Mama Pea and made myself a glass of green juice.

IMG_5488.JPG

This glass contained a yellow apple, several kale leaves, several romaine lettuce leaves, half a cucumber and some broccoli stems. I felt very yogic (is that a word?) drinking it before yoga class. I really need to make juice more often. It’s just a pain to clean the juicer. Especially when you don’t have a garbage disposal or compost bin. I gave some of the pulp to Murphy. He seemed to like it.

I didn’t get home until after 9:30, which meant a really late dinner. Of course, cooking a real dinner was the last thing on my mind. I just wanted to eat! CPK to the rescue. I don’t eat frozen pizza that often, but sometimes it does hit the spot.

IMG_5494.JPG

Jason bought me ten classes at this particular studio for my birthday last year and I have been slowly using them up. I have some friends who go to another studio and that studio seems to have more types of classes to choose from. So after I use up my classes, I might try some at that one. I definitely want to continue to practice though. I have notoriously tight hamstrings and I think that it will really help to loosen them up, which in turn will make me a faster runner.

25 responses to “Blogger Yoga

  1. Thank God you didn’t do what I did the first time I went to a night class. I just had to eat dinner because I was so hungry then felt like I was going to vomit the whole time. I never really thought about yoga making me a faster runner, but I’m all for that! 🙂

  2. Aww, I’m so jealous of all of the blogger fun you get to have! I love Bikram– the flow of the poses just feels right to me, and I like how you don’t have to hold anything for TOO long.

  3. I agree about the whole cleaning the juicer thing. I rarely get mine out for that reason. But I know I should make green juice more often. I always feel so good when I drink it.

  4. I’m trying Bikram for the first time on Monday and excited/nervous. I’ve never even done yoga before! Tips?

  5. I’m thinking of buying a two week pass to hot yoga. I’ve never tried it and can’t afford a month long pass, so two weeks would be a good test.

  6. I”m glad you enjoyed it but see what you mean – 7:30 is a weird time – bummer!

  7. I hear ya… my yoga class is at 7:15 at night… really does cut into the dinner hour! 🙂

  8. I can’t stop thinking about it, I think I might be a yoga nut now!

  9. That sounds like Bikram to me. That is an odd time, especially since you can’t really eat before. Any morning class options?

  10. Ugh, most of the yoga classes I can make it to start around 7 or 8 near me, too. I can’t wait to eat dinner til after I get home, so I always struggle with that, too! I think a juice or smoothie is a great idea, though.

  11. I think that Bikram is a tad more rigid and the studio has to be Bikram-certified to call their classes that. I could be wrong, though. Let me know if you want to go to AHY this weekend… Sat or Sun afternoon works for me!

  12. I have always wanted to try hot yoga. I think I would like it. I used to do yoga every day, but I lost the discipline. I think I would do better if I went to a studio, but I am with you, it is hard to find the right time.

  13. That was definitely Bikram you took.

    I love yoga (although I don’t do it nearly enough). It is supposed to make me a better runner though so I plan on trying to go at least once a week.

  14. I tried hot yoga once — about 6 years ago — and got so hot during the class that I literally had to leave and throw up. Haven’t been back since.

  15. wow i have always wanted to try hot yoga but it seems INTENSE.. awk timing on the class!

  16. That totally is an awkward time. I never know what to do about eating with things like that. I hate having a rock in my stomach and feeling like I’m going to throw up, but I don’t do well when I’m hungry either…

  17. I went to my first yoga class this summer and really enjoyed it. I really want to try hot yoga…just need to find a place that holds classes.

    Seems like everyone is one this juicing train but me! I just can’t see spending the money on a juicer when I probably won’t use it that much because I’m too lazy to clean it!

    • I’ve had it for over a year and maybe used it 10 times. But I want to use it more! I’m going to try to make myself. It’s dishwasher safe which is nice.

  18. I would really like to try Bikram yoga, but I don’t know of anywhere near here that offers it. Plus I have a gym membership, so I don’t want to pay more per month to exercise than I already do.

    Giving pulp to Murphy is genius. I bet Link would eat mine!!!I just throw mine away now after many failed juice pulp muffin attempts.

  19. So glad you got to do your yoga meetup, Lee! It will definitely be good for your tight hamstrings. I’ve been trying to keep my yoga up during training for that very reason! It was very yogic (did we decide that’s a word?) of you to have your juice beforehand. Yum. 🙂

  20. I also have a hard time with classes at that hour. I never know what to eat that won’t make me feel nauseous….or have me starving all through class!!

    Glad you got to yoga. I’ve been to hot yoga once and loved it, but haven’t ever gone back. I just have a hard time motivating myself to get to a class, which is silly because I know I wouldn’t regret it. I bet it will make you faster runner if you stick with it though!

  21. hahah, giving Murphy pulp is genius. I don’t think my pup would like it- he is so picky!

    It sounds like a bikram class to me! How are you liking it?

  22. I have the same problem with times of classes on campus. I have no desire to go back out at 7-9pm to go to a fitness class, so I usually end up skipping them!