Do I Have An Accent?

I saw Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point doing a video about her accent and I thought it would be fun to do one too. I’m from Maryland, by the way.

(If you’re reading this in reader, click on my actual blog to see the video.)

Here is the list of words/questions for The Accent Vlog: Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped
body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry
groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Do I sound how you thought I would?

30 responses to “Do I Have An Accent?

  1. This is hilarious!! I might have to do this too 🙂

    I call it a sun shower, for what it’s worth!! hehehehehe

  2. Haha, awesome. So good to “see” you, Lee. I loved Murphy’s cameo, too. 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh you sound so Southern! Espesh when you say mayonnaise. Murphy is so cute!

  4. This was amazing! 🙂 I definitely say “y’all” 500 times a day, and that is definitely the way I address a group of people. That’s so weird that people would be offended by “you guys!” And I’m from the south!

  5. i love the way you talk!!!

  6. Well I have to say yes you do since we’ve met in person. 😀

  7. i loved getting to hear your voice! you just motivated me to make one, too 🙂 i think i hear a hint of a twang in yours, but definitely not in mine. i wish i did, though!

    • I listened to it again and heard it in a couple words – Alabama and mayonnaise. I am going to get Jason to do this. He definitely has a Southern accent that I think everyone that’s not from the South would get a kick out of.

  8. Ahhh! So cool to hear your voice! It’s lighter than I imagined and I love it! I’m going to do the same thing today and try to post it tonight!

  9. LOL @ the “you guys” comment. I say that and I’m FROM Georgia. 🙂

  10. Brad and I read your post together and he cracked up at some of my answers to your questions. I definitely have a southern accent but it’s kind of funny that I don’t say things like “ya’ll”. I say “you guys” too. If you’re extremely southern, you know that if it rains when it’s sunny the devil is beating his wife.

  11. Oh my gosh, I LOVE your voice, Lee! I am jealous! The older I get, the more I wished I sounded younger. 🙂

    hahaha love Murph’s voice, too.

  12. ahahah i love this!! i love vlogs too- so funny to hear your voice!

  13. Ha! This was really cool! I loved hearing you talk (as weird as that sounds to say?)…and uhh yes, you do have a southern accent. It’s not strong but it’s definitely there. I was laughing out loud at the “tennis shoes” comment hehe.

  14. Heheh! Yes you sound the same 🙂 But I still loved listening to hear you so words! Oh the things we do to amuse ourselves!

  15. I didn’t think you had much of an accent. Certainly, some pronunciations were distinctive, but I didn’t catch a drawl in there.

  16. I love your accent!! I say guys too 🙂

  17. Between the both of you, I think Murphy has the best voice!

    I am originally from the Midwest and I say You Guys. When I first moved here, people made fun of that ALL THE TIME.

  18. I love this!! It’s so fun to hear bloggers talk, since when I read your blog, it’s just in my own voice (which is boring). Now I’ll be able to imagine you saying it!!

    Murphy has the best accent, though…hands down 🙂

  19. Pingback: A Real Southern Accent | In my tummy

  20. Haha you totally inspired me to do this.

  21. Pingback: The SoCal Accent: My First VLog | Healthy Twists

  22. i’m surprised at how many people here hear a southern accent. you still sound the same as you did back in high school to me, which was like the rest of us suburban washingtonians. which i guess to some people might say have hints of southern tones, though no one has ever said that to me. weird.

  23. I really loved that 🙂 (Took me a while because I was waiting till I was at home to watch instead of on my work computer on the road). I think you definitely have an accent… but that’s only because I took a speech course as part of my drama major in college, and the first semester was entirely focused on accent reduction. I can tell how you speak that’s not the same as “Standard American,” but basically NO ONE speaks Standard American except actors – I’m from upstate New York, which is typically perceived as pretty neutral, but even I had to change the way I pronounced some words to fit the “Standard.” It’s kind of fun to impress friends now with how I can write entire sentences in the International Phonetic Alphabet (those funny symbols you see next to the word in dictionaries).

  24. Loved your voice!!! You are too freaking cute!!!

  25. Sorry…that above comment was me!

  26. Pingback: My Accent Vlog | Purple Bird Blog

  27. Pingback: My Accent Vlog: Am I a Southern Hick? | kissmybroccoli