Favorite Gifts

In the past, whenever I’d make sweet potato fries, I’d make the frozen, pre-cut kind which never turned out quite as good. The reason I did it this way was simple – I didn’t have a sharp knife. Cutting the potato into fry-like shapes was more of a pain than it was worth. So my fries were freezer burned and soggy all the time.

When we got married, one of the things that we registered for was a very sharp knife and I’m so glad that we did. Seriously, having a good knife has made a huge difference in my kitchen.

IMG_5518.JPG

Sweet Potato Fries that a non-sweet potato liking husband will like

Serves 2

1 large sweet potato, cut into fry shapes
1 tbsp olive oil
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp pepper
¼ tsp cumin
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
¼ tsp thyme

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut potato into fry-like shapes.

IMG_5501.JPG

Coat fries with oil and spices.

IMG_5504.JPG

Put fries onto parchment paper covered cookie sheet.

IMG_5512.JPG

Bake for 15 minutes and then flip. Bake for 15 more minutes.

IMG_5516.JPG

When we registered for wedding gifts, I went a little crazy in the kitchen department. Our friends and family were generous enough to get us a lot of what was on the registry. Some of which we use, like the knife, and some of which we don’t. I was thinking about the top three things we use the most and came up with this:

1. The knife. Obviously.

IMG_5517.JPG

2. Fiestaware in pretty colors. Eating off nice, bright plates makes me happy.

IMG_5521.JPG

3. Zojirushi rice cooker. I know that a $150 rice cooker (and this is the smaller size) is a bit ridiculous but I use it all the time. I’m actually using it right now for oatmeal. I also use it for rice, quinoa, lentils, millet, basically anything that has to be cooked in water.

IMG_5520.JPG

And what we don’t use?

IMG_5522.JPG

You can guess who added that to the registry! We used it once for a party. (In his defense, he also was the one that picked out the knife!)

16 responses to “Favorite Gifts

  1. We have that same brand of knives (except we have the black wooden handles) and they do make all the difference in the world! I used to avoid having to chop up a bunch of vegetables, but now I actually like doing it now because I feel like a professional with my super sharp knives. 😉 We didn’t get our rice cooker on our registry but will definitely be purchasing it in the near future.

  2. Are those bowls/plates from Crate & Barrel? We have ones that look similar.
    Even though we bought it before we got married, I would recommend people register for a food processor because we use it all the time.

  3. Yum, love the idea of adding cumin to sweet potato fries. Adds a nice spice!

  4. A sharp knife is KEY! I also just found out that a bread knife is great to have as well. Makes such a huge difference! I love the fiestaware! 🙂

  5. OMG I was just about to write a post on quality knives! Jeff got me two nice knives for Christmas but one was on backorder, we finally just cancelled that order and bought it somewhere else yesterday. A good knife makes ALL the difference!

  6. Yes!! Knives make SUCH a difference! My mom gave me a Wustoff for my birthday a few years back, which seemed like a strange present, but honestly, it’s one of the best gifts I’ve ever gotten!

  7. oo i actually have never added spices to my fries!! will do next time 😀

  8. YUM! That’s exactly how I make my sweet tatoe fries too! Now I want to go off and bake some, they are delish!

  9. I have the same rice cooker and I use it all the time. I had been wanting one for such a long time and finally broke down and spent the big bucks on it. I love it. I also agree that a good knife makes life in the kitchen so much more pleasant.

  10. A sharp knife makes all the difference in the world! I got my chef’s knife about 4 years ago when I vacationed in Gatlinburg, TN. I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t use it! I love it so much that I bought my mom one for her birthday last year (#1 to spread the knife love and #2 because I was tired of her crappy dull knives whenever I’d cook at her house!)

  11. Love the sweet potato fries! I’ve tried to make them, but I didn’t season them and they just tasted like a regular baked sweet potato. It was good, but not great. I am digging the spices in those!

  12. Sweet potato fries are one of my favorite things in the entire world! Except I have such crappy knives that they’re kind of a pain to make. Someday I hope to have a nice set.

    And I love that Fiestaware!! So cheerful 🙂

  13. LOVE having a few really good knives. It makes all the difference. Plus, a slow cooker!

  14. I REALLY need a good knife. I’ve always heard you’re more likely to cut yourself on a dull knife (maybe because you chop down harder? Who knows.) and I have a huge fear of cutting myself….

  15. Looks like a great knife : ) Knives are very key…

    And those sweet potato fries look AMAZING!