Dust Storm

While the rest of the country was getting pounded by a snowstorm, we had a dust storm instead. In our house.

IMG_4071.JPG

After we removed the wallpaper a couple weeks ago, we were left with a ton of glue on the walls. We ended up skim coating the walls which basically means covering them with a layer of drywall compound. Then they had to be sanded.

IMG_4068.JPG

I guess it’s better than 2 feet of snow, right? Well, maybe not. Seriously, this home improvement stuff is hard. It just takes so long to finish and I feel like our house is constantly a huge mess. We still have to finish sanding the walls, prime them and then paint them and that’s just for that little hallway!

Not only did Jason sand the walls, but he also put dinner in the crockpot. I like my crockpot, but one of the reasons that I don’t use it as much as some of my other kitchen appliances is that I don’t feel like it’s as easy as drop it in and go. You still have to chop up the ingredients and everything beforehand and for whatever reason, I am always too lazy to do it the night before. So I mainly use the crockpot on weekend (mine or his) nights.

IMG_5531.JPG

It was nice to have Ravioli Stew waiting for me when I get home, I’ll admit that. I guess I could get over the preparing the night before phobia.

IMG_5535.JPG

We also had a salad with a new dressing that I got at Whole Foods. I love the dressing at Japanese restaurants and am always trying to find a bottled version or recipe. This was pretty close but not an exact replicate. Does anyone have a recipe for that stuff?

IMG_5541.JPG

After we ate, we sat down to watch today’s Oprah episode about veganism. While nothing in the show was particularly new information for me, I still thought it was interesting and give kudos to Oprah for introducing the concept of veganism to her audience. I did find the Kashi product placement sort of odd though!

While we were watching, I was also making dessert. I saw this recipe for Black Bean Brownies on Foodie Fresh and the idea intrigued me. I told Jason that I was making dessert with a secret ingredient. This is pretty much the norm in our house, for me to add something odd, so he didn’t really bat an eye.

IMG_5547.JPG

I gave one to Jason and his first comment was that it’d be good with ice cream. I asked him what he thought was different about it and first he asked if there was no sugar. I assured him that there was plenty of sugar. (I actually used about 1.75 cups instead of 2.25) Then he asked if there was no flour. I said there was. He asked if they were vegan. I said that they were, but that wasn’t the weird ingredient, nor was the almond milk. Finally I told him.

Beans! (You can’t taste them and I guess they provide added fiber.)

What’s your favorite “weird” ingredient to put in a dessert? Or any meal for that matter?

25 responses to “Dust Storm

  1. I hope you guys liked them! I need to try making blondies with chickpeas. πŸ™‚

  2. I have seen the black bean brownies all over the place and still have yet to make them. I put nutritional yeast in everything, including smoothies. I just love that stuff! πŸ™‚

  3. I still have not dared to try out the black bean brownies, but I did make dessert hummus recently!

  4. I’ve been meaning to try those. Congrats on getting that hallway knocked out!

  5. Wow that is a dust storm! luck you that you’re not getting pounded by this storm- it’s ridiculous. I def would love to try that dessert sometime! nom nom nom!

  6. Wow, you are so brave!! I love taking on projects but I always get about halfway and lose my steam. πŸ™‚ I will DEFinitely be worth it when you are done, though!

  7. I LOVE black bean brownies. I made a “Mexican” version that had a great kick to it on the end. πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the dust storm! But aren’t you so glad we aren’t getting anymore snow?

  8. Ooooh! I want to try those brownies!!! I can’t believe you can’t taste the beans!

  9. Your hubby’s guesses are too funny. I’ve always wanted to try black bean brownies.

  10. Girl, you KNOW I feel your pain! Home improvement is definitely hard!!!! But it’s worth it in the end, right? πŸ™‚

  11. I’m super sick of the snow and I still think I’d rather have two feet of it than that dust…you guys are awesome. Keep up the good work! πŸ™‚

  12. What was his reaction to the idea that there were beans in his brownies? With my ex, even if he had raved about the first one, the knowledge that there was something healthy like beans in them would have made sure he never touched another one!

  13. We redid our kitchen a few years ago, including the entire ceiling…we lived with drywall dust for MONTHS and it was awful! Totally worth it in the end, though. Enjoy!

  14. I’ve made brownies with beans before and I think they are yummy. I like using diet soda and cake mix for desserts (not the cleanest but very easy). Good luck with the home improvements! I’m sure your house will be gorgeous when you finish!

  15. I’ve never made bean brownies. I did make a chocolate cake with avocado instead of butter once and the result wasn’t very good. You could see little green spots!! haha. gross!

  16. Your ravioli looks delicous, it actually looks better than the picture in the recipe!! : ) good job!! Oh, I can relate on the dust storm. We leave in an old farm house that we purchased about 3 yrs ago and just added on 1000 sq ft. Once that plastic came down, it felt like I dusted and mops for months before it even became to be back to normal…..Hang in there!!

  17. Bean are great for that, aren’t they? You are going to be so happy when the house is done and your taste! I too am getting to know my crockpot. Your dinner looks delicious!

  18. I’ve been wanting to try black bean brownies, but I just wasn’t so sure! If it passed with the hubs that’s good enough for me!

    I love baking with avocado! I’ve made avocado banana muffins and a chocolate avocado cake with avocado buttercream icing. They both tasted great…it’s just getting people to look past the green hue so they will actually TRY it!

    • I got about seven people at my office to try the brownies. I was too chicken to not tell them what was in them, so they knew ahead of time. About half of them said they were good and the other half couldn’t get past knowing there were beans in them. My boss wouldn’t try them!