Blogger Spotting

I went to the gym after work to run. When I got onto a treadmill, I was recognized by Tracy from Kitchen Ambition who was on the treadmill next to me! I’ve met a bunch of bloggers in real life before but this was the first time that I’ve run into one that I’ve never met before! We chatted for about ten minutes while she finished her run and I started mine.

I ended up doing a 5 mile speedwork session. My training plan called for seven, but that seemed a little too much to do on the treadmill, so I cut it down to five and will run the other two tomorrow. I warmed up at 5.5 for a mile. I ran at 6.4 mph (9:22) for three quarters of a mile and then walked at 3.5mph for a quarter mile. I did the run/walk repeat for a total of three miles and then cooled down at 5.5 for the final mile. While running at 6.4mph isn’t fun for me, it isn’t impossible, which I need to remember. I’ve run a 5K at that pace before, so it’s definitely do able.

While I was running, I was thinking about Oprah’s vegan challenge. At first, I thought that since I don’t eat much meat (fish and seafood is still meat!), it wouldn’t be that hard for me to go vegan for a week. But then I started thinking about what I ate all day and what was vegan and what wasn’t.

• coffee with soy creamer and stevia – vegan
• fried egg sandwich – not vegan
• chocolate vitatop – not vegan
• leftoever ravioli stew – not vegan
• apple – vegan
• fun size pack of peanut m&ms – not vegan
Greek orzo salad – not vegan

IMG_5550.JPG

• black bean brownie – vegan

So even though I ate vegetarian all day, the only vegan things that I had were coffee, an apple and a brownie. That was sort of surprising to me! I didn’t realize quite how many animals products I eat on a regular basis. Of course, the ravioli stew could have easily been veganized by using vegan ravioli and the Greek Orzo salad could have been veganized by leaving out the cheese (I used goat cheese instead of feta, btw).

Could you go vegan for a week? And have you ever run into another blogger?

16 responses to “Blogger Spotting

  1. I know a few bloggers personally already, but I’ve never run into any that I didn’t know to begin with. Then again, I live on an island, so chances are I already know them ;).

    Great job with the run today! I don’t think I could do 5 miles on the treadmill anymore (blegh).

    Also, I love eggs and seafood too much to go vegan. I could probably do it for a little bit, but then my body says “feed me protein!” and I listen.

  2. I’ve never run into a blogger randomly or been recognized but I love blogger meetups. There’s a big group of DC bloggers getting together this weekend so I’m really excited to meet some of the other local girls.

  3. That’s so funny you ran into another blogger randomly! Never has happened to me.
    I would have trouble giving up eggs, but I think I’d be fine without dairy.

  4. Never run into another blogger randomly, but then again, I haven’t been at it that long. I would probably be fine to try veganism for a while but it would take some conscious effort. I just love cheese! I would have to stop myself.

  5. I’ve never run into another blogger. I don’t think there are many of us here in SC! So it would definitely be a treat. I do think I could go vegan for a week, but I guess I would miss out on a lot of protein. The majority of my protein intake comes from cheese and eggs.

  6. I know I could go vegan again (I’ve done it for six months) but I don’t really have a desire to again. I try not to eat too much dairy, but towards the end of my veganism, I started to feel like it was really restrictive and contributing to my binge eating. Of course, different things work for different people. I missed yogurt the most!

  7. I could totally do vegan for a week. I’ve cut out most meat anyway (still doing fish and eggs here too), and I’ve cut out dairy as well, so I don’t think it would be that difficult at all! I’ve had a scheduled blogger meetup, but never a random encounter, too cool!

  8. going vegan is actually so much easier than i thought!! i recenlty made the switch and i have experimented with so many different foods!

  9. I couldn’t go vegan for a week. Vegetarian yes, but vegan no.
    I didn’t see the Oprah episode but have heard everyone talking about it and love the idea of going vegan, but I just hate the thought of giving up my favorite foods or substituting them with fake things.

    I’ve never run into another blogger but think it would be really awesome if I did 🙂

  10. I think it would be hard for me to eat vegan, probably just because I LOVE dairy (I eat 2 or 3 yogurts a day, and at least one of my meals has cheese pretty much daily) and it’s amazing how many of the things I eat contain animal products without me even thinking about it! I could definitely do it for a day, though…just would hae to stock up on Larabars. 🙂

  11. I ran into a fellow blogger in the middle of a race once, which was pretty remarkable considering it was the Miami Marathon/HM, and there are close to 20, 000 runners who participate. Funny, I could spot her during the race, but we never coordinated a post-race meet-up!

  12. I couldn’t! Well, I could with a plan!

    No – love that you did though!

  13. Hey Lee! I’ve never just run into another blogger. That’s pretty neat. 🙂

    I think it would be tough for me to be entirely vegan. I love egg sandwiches and cheese. I will have vegan days every now and again, though.

  14. I went vegan for a month a year ago so I know I could do it. 🙂 The hardest part for me is the cheese. Cheese makes everything taste better!

  15. How random that we ended up on two treadmills right next to each other! Love i! It was great to meet you though – hope to see you again soon!

    Funny about Oprah – a few of us at work are talking about going vegan for a week now. I want to buy that book too!

  16. I just heard about Oprah’s vegan challenge. I think I could go vegetarian, but vegan…not so much! I don’t know if I could part with my Greek yogurt, eggs, and cheese!