Guster and the Cone of Shame

Last night, Jason and I went to see Guster at The Tabernacle. Guster was my favorite band in college. Their sound has changed a lot since then and I don’t like them as much, but I decided that I wanted to go anyway and I’m so glad that I did.

IMG_4078.JPG

I don’t know if anyone is familiar with the band, but the main thing that I loved about them back in the day was the drummer’s bongo playing. He went crazy on the bongos and it was great. At some point, he started playing with drum sticks and their sound got a bit more radio friendly and while I still liked it, I didn’t like it as much.

IMG_4084.JPG

I was pleased that the drummer alternated between his bongos and his regular drum set and they did play quite a bit of older songs including one of my favorites, Two Points for Honesty.

IMG_4077.JPG

Jason was a sport and went with me even though he’s not really into their music. I think he enjoyed it. Maybe.

This morning, I got up and took Murphy to the vet. He’s been licking this spot on his arm (I actually noticed it for the first time when I did the accent vlog) and it’s gotten infected. The vet gave us some pills and put Murphy in the dreaded Cone of Shame. The vet actually referred to it as the Cone of Shame which I thought was awesome. (Have you see UP? If not, you need to.)

IMG_5564.JPG

Apparently this type of cone is more comfortable for the dog but will still stop him from licking his wound. Although he looks like he’s smiling in this picture, he is pissed.

18 responses to “Guster and the Cone of Shame

  1. I used to listen to Guster in college too, but it’s been so long I can’t remember what they sound like! I do remember the name of the song “Two Points for Honesty” though.

    Awwww, Murphy! He’s so cute, even in the cone of shame! lol

    • I feel so bad for him. He’s lying around looking pathetic. The vet said his leg should be better by Monday or Tuesday and he can stop wearing it.

  2. Aw, poor Murphy. That’s kind of hilarious though that the vet calls it a cone of shame, I’ve never heard anyone say that. I haven’t been to a concert in a looooong time.

    • The term cone of shame is from the movie Up. You should see it. It’s one of my favorite movies and I’m not usually a big animated movie fan.

  3. Wow, I haven’t thought about Guster in a hot minute!! That abbreviated cone of shame is cracking me up a bit, and I bet he’s super pissed, I know my dogs can’t stand it. I finally put up my own accent vlog today! πŸ™‚

  4. omg! i love the tabernacle! i saw jason mraz there a few years back.

  5. Poor Murphy 😦 He is just so handsome though.

    I used to be a huge Guster fan. I still am, but I haven’t listened to them lately. I have seen them live like four times though! I’ve also been to the Tabernacle. When I went to Clemson, I drove to ATL and Athens for concerts a lot. My fave song is Happier. “One more inch, you son of a…..” <—Best part!

  6. I used to listen to Guster, too! I hate it when you have a favorite band and their style changes.

    Poor Murphy! Our cat when we were little had the same problem….she had a spot that she licked and licked until it became infected. 😦 I hope he feels better soon – poor guy!

  7. Poor dog! Although, if I could put my bird in something like that to stop him from biting, I totally would. Who would have thought that a tiny bird could bite so hard?!

  8. I used to be a big Guster fan, too. I’m glad that you guys had a good time! πŸ™‚

    Poor Murphy…hopefully he’s not in the cone of shame for too long.

  9. Get well soon Murph!
    Our pups had to wear the actual cone around their neck when they had eye surgery. It was kind of funny to watch them with it on as they would run in to everything and the cone would pick up stuff on the ground πŸ™‚

  10. My dog does that too–licks her “hot spots” until they get infected. I always feel bad stopping her because she gets so mad but its for the best. Murphy will feel SOOOO much better when he is all healed. Is Murphy a rescue dog or a bred dog?

  11. have you heard of new rules of lifting for abs?

  12. Love Guster! Saw them not too long ago myself! How fun! πŸ™‚

  13. Poor Murphy! Funny he does look happy in that picture though. And I LOVED up. Leela always does the “POINT!”

  14. So funny, we almost went to that show but it was on my b-day and not everyone is a huge fan. I love Guster – they really used to be one of my faves too but they have changed so much…too “pop” for me now. I’d definitely go see them though. Hope you had fun!