Granola Bars

I have this habit of buying random ingredients and not knowing what to do with them. Case in point…

IMG_5579.JPG

With a little bit of googling, I settled on Big Sur Power Bars.

Fortunately, I won a contest recently and happened to have an abundance of coconut in my house. You think I’m kidding? This is next to the Diet Coke (that I might or might not have drank) for a size comparison.

IMG_5577.JPG

That’s 2 pounds of coconut, yo.

I made a few changes to the recipe, per the norm. Instead of using a cup of pecans and a cup of almonds, I used Trader Joe’s Trek Mix. I’ve had it in the cabinet for a while and it was the perfect substitute for the nuts. I used 5 packs which made almost 2 cups. I also omitted the espresso.

IMG_5575.JPG

The brown rice syrup was the consistency of honey. But then when I heated it up, it got much more liquidy. I poured it over the cereal and voila, instant granola.

IMG_5582.JPG

\

The hardest part was waiting for everything to cool before I could cut it into bars.

IMG_5589.JPG

All wrapped up and ready to take for snacks.

IMG_5599.JPG

One of Michael Pollan’s Food Rules is to eat all the junk food you want as long as you make it yourself. These granola bars aren’t exactly health food, but I did make them myself!

26 responses to “Granola Bars

  1. They look yummy! I tried making granola bars with brown rice syrup once. They turned out SO hard…but they tasted GREAT!

  2. Gee, hope you have enough coconut. πŸ˜‰ Those bars look great — I want to try making my own.

  3. Those look awesome!! Care to ship me some πŸ˜‰ yum!!

  4. I have the same problem! What did I think I was going to do with 6 different kinds of flour?! πŸ™‚

  5. These look great and so easy to make!

  6. Dang, those look good! And that’s A LOT of coconut!!! πŸ™‚

  7. I have an unopened jar of the same stuff in my pantry that’s been there for nearly a year! I used to make granola bars all the time, I don’t know why I stopped.

  8. Brown rice syrup is another thing I have yet to try out, though I always mean to pick it up. That coconut bucket ain’t no joke!!! πŸ˜‰

  9. Holy cow, that is a ton of coconut!

    I love Michael Pollan for that rule alone. πŸ™‚ And really, it’s not like we get to bake every minute of everyday…..so we might as well enjoy it when we do, right???

  10. Holy coconut, what’s the shelf life on that tub?

    Now, that’s a food rule I can get on board with. Those bars look delicious!

  11. Mmm, that looks good!

  12. Holy coconut!! I’m jealous of your stash! Your bars look awesome and there are definitely more junky things to eat!

    • I actually figured out the calories for them and it’s not bad at all. Much less than I thought it would be. it was roughly 170 calories each.

  13. They look delicious. And I love the rule that you can eat junk food if you make it yourself!

  14. I do the same thing! I’m always buying random ingredients and then I get home and realize I don’t know what to do with them πŸ™‚ Now I know what to make if I ever buy brown rice syrup πŸ™‚

  15. I love coconut but even I couldn’t go through that much! Make coconut butter πŸ™‚

    Those bars look awesome-tastic πŸ™‚

  16. These look yum!! I think you did the right thing making them yourself, it is always better to DIY and know what is in it!

  17. These look yummy! I’ve never even seen that syrup anywhere.
    If you could see my pantry and all the random ingredients I have in there….I could eat for a while without having to go to the store, but things keep getting piled up!

  18. Apparently, we’ve both had granola on the mind, lately!

  19. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I love coconut! Let us know how you ended up using it all!
    And that granola looks so delicious!

  20. Now that is a food rule I can get on board with! YUM. That is a lot of coconut. I don’t think it would last here too long.

  21. Great recipe, girl!
    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  22. decibelbelownormal

    I LOVEthat food rule! My mum bought a factory made carrot cake recently and when I read the ingredients I refused to eat it (even though it killed me) So many ingredients I had never even heard of had been stuffed into a cake I could have made in 40 minutes with flour carrots and sugar.

  23. I am always buying ingredients and forgetting why I bought them! I get a little crazy with the bookmarking and frequently lose recipes to the black hole of my computer memory! I’ve had brown rice syrup forevah and JUST recently used it in my chocolate tofu brownies and they came out perfect!

    Your granola bars looks fab! I love making my own treats and snacks! It’s so nice to know what’s going into your “junk food”!