Hummus Princess

I was watching an episode of the show Heavy a couple of weeks ago when something that one participants (I don’t know what to call them, the people that are trying to lose weight) said struck me. She said that she snacks in between meals and then she snacks in between snacks. It struck me because I do this too. Because I work out a lot and because most of my snacks are on the healthier side, I’m not particularly overweight. Okay, technically, I’m not overweight at all. But I am at the very high end of the normal weight BMI and I’m not happy with that and I haven’t been happy with it for a while.

After trying and trying to just eat less, I realized that I need more structure than that. So, I decided to sign up for a trial week of Weight Watchers and see how it goes. As some of you have probably heard, they’ve reformulated their Points program to be more geared towards whole foods instead of packaged 100 calorie stuff.

I don’t plan to change what I’m eating, but I think that keeping track of what I’m eating will help me to stop snacking (in between snacks!) You aren’t going to gain weight from eating a ton of carrots, but you are going to from eating a ton of hummus and that’s my problem. Healthy foods can still add up. I think I need to resign my title of Hummus Queen. I can still be the Hummus Princess though because I do love me some hummus.

I know that I could just count calories on a website like Sparkpeople, but I’ve tried that in the past and for whatever reason, it doesn’t work for me. So, we’ll see if Weight Watchers does. For the record, I want to lose about 15 pounds. I’m not too concerned with the actual number on the scale, but I have a lot of clothes that I’d like to fit into again.

Enough about that.

Yoga class really took a lot out of me last night and I turned what was supposed to be a 6 mile tempo run into a 3 mile slow run. It was just one of those runs where my legs felt soo heavy even though I was running pretty slowly. I slogged through 3 miles and will do the other 5 tomorrow when my legs are fresher.

I stopped at Kroger after the gym to get some groceries. Jason’s been feeling a little under the weather so I wanted to pick up some OJ for him as well as the ingredients for soup. Homemade soup is always a good cure, even if it’s not chicken soup, right?

A couple days ago, I’d bookmarked Emily’s Broccoli Cheddar soup and knew that’s what I wanted to make. Have you guys seen her recipe page? It’s the coolest thing because you can enter in your phone number and it will send you a text message to a link of the recipe that’s easily viewed on your phone. A real plus for people like me that can’t read their own handwriting half the time.

IMG_5625.JPG

I followed her recipe except that I used reduced fat cheddar cheese instead of Daiya. This soup did not disappoint. It was delicious, especially with a piece of Trader Joe’s naan for dipping.

And now I’m off to bake a pie. I realize that’s sort of counter intuitive to the whole weight loss thing, but it’s for work tomorrow. Oh, and Murphy wanted to show you that his arm has healed and he’s out of his cone of shame.

IMG_5633.JPG
24 responses to “Hummus Princess

  1. good luck with all of the above! i think you look great in your pictures but i totally understand the desire to lose vanity pounds. since i recently had a positive experience, i’m just going to put a plug for seeing an RD if your health care plan covers it. 🙂 (for mine all i had was a $15 copay, and i get up to 6 visits/yr!). that would encourage accountability and they could also provide very personalized recs (whereas i would assume ww probably treats everyone the same).

  2. i like your “hummus princess” title. very cute :). you’re right that healthy snacks do add up…i’m guilty of overdoing it on the almonds sometimes. good luck with your weight watchers trial!

  3. Good luck, girl!! I’ll take the Hummus Queen spot for ya. 😉

  4. I am really interested to see how this works for you because I’m in the same boat except I’ve been on WW for three months and I’ve lost one pound! It’s a great program, I think it’s just not the one for me. I’m stick it out longer except now I’m going to have to start paying monthly and I don’t know if I want to do that. I’m seriously debating the Body For Life program because well, my wedding is in less than 5 months and I don’t have much more time to waste if I want to shape up before the big day! But all that said, I hope you like the program. I like it a lot…I’m just not losing weight!

  5. let us know how it goes! i really want to try out the new WW plan too. other stuff just hasnt been working for me.

  6. Snacking is the downfall of many of us. Do you think decreasing your workouts might actually help? Either way, wish you the best on your WW adventure!

    • I don’t think I’m actually hungry for the snacks half the time. I just eat out of boredom or because it’s there. So I don’t think my workouts are making me extra hungry. I guess they could be though.

  7. I’ve heard so many good things about the new WW program! I’m anxious to hear what you think, because i’d love for my mom to do it (she’s done it in the past, but I think the new program would be much better for her).

  8. Snacking is my downfall too – it’s funny b/c I know it, but I still buy snacky stuff (like pita chips, veggie chips, wheat thins) to keep in the house. Let us know how it goes!! Good luck.

  9. I’ve debated WW since they have changed their points system. Before there was too much focus on processed foods and I’m not crazy about that. I have about 15 to lose too…it’s always the last 15 that are the hardest.

  10. Exciting!!! I know many people who’ve had great luck on WW, and love it!

  11. i did WW for a bit in law school. for me, it didnt work…but that was completely MY fault. i didn’t use my points wisely (ummm…like 1/3 of day went to a pack of animal crackers…) so ended up too low in cals and unhealthy. BUT i think it can be great when you work it smartly….asnd i know you will

  12. Good luck girl – NOT that I think you need it at ALL. You work out very hard and very often, you are fit and in shape. But, I can understand wanting to feel better about yourself, so if it makes you happy, do it up, girl. I love the Hummus Queen title btw, ha!

  13. Good luck! And I do the same thing with ranch…that celery is negated by the extreme amount of creamy dressing I slather on it!

  14. I love the changes weight watchers has made to their plan! Hope that you find trying it out to be rewarding :). What a sweet wife to get the man OJ and to make him soup! I haven’t made broccoli & cheddar in ages…now I want a bowl. Glad to hear Murphy is cone free ;). He looks so happy

  15. I’ve bookmarked that soup too, glad to hear it’s as tasty as it looks. Good luck with WW, I know I don’t have the discipline to count calories myself either.

  16. Hummus is like crack…it is just so hard to step away from it. I am glad you are finding a way to deal with snacking. I am a scheduled snacker, but it works now since it keeps me from getting to the starving point and I don’t get hungry between snacks and meals. I am anxious to hear how this works for you.

  17. We all should feel good about working towards a place we feel best at. I’ll be here cheering you on 100% of the way!

  18. Good luck, Lee. I know exactly what you mean about needing some structure. I hope that WW helps! So glad that Murphy is out of his cone of shame! He looks much happier. 🙂 Happy Friday!

  19. I’m interested to see how you like Weight Watchers. As you know I’ve been on it about 2 months. My weight has been trending down but very slowly, in part I’m sure because I am not trying to lose a lot. Hopefully that won’t happen to you too (the slowly part).

  20. Best of luck Lee – sounds like you’re approaching dropping a few pounds with a good mindset! 🙂

  21. I’m usually pretty good about my eating schedule during the week, but the weekends can be a whole ‘nother story! I am a snack fiend! I definitely hold the title of Nut Butter Queen!

    So good to hear the pup is better! He’s so gorgeous!

  22. I am totally making that soup tonight! I just bought frozen broccoli specifically for it 🙂

    I’ve though about joining WW, too. I’m interested to see how you like it!