Bizarre Foods Friday

Two weeks ago, I brought my black bean brownies into work and basically forced everyone to try them. This inspired something fun for the office – Bizarre Foods Friday. My co-worker/friend Tanya thought of it. Her rules were simple, you had to make a food that either:

• had a weird ingredient
• had a weird color
• had a weird smell

Fortunately, no one went with the smell. Eight people participated. The rules were that you had to try the food before you were told what the secret ingredient was. Everyone was expecting something really weird from me, but I kept it pretty tame and made a pie.

IMG_5644.JPG

Can you spot the weird ingredient?

IMG_5636.JPG

I made Alton Brown’s Moo-less Chocolate Pie.

Ingredients
2 cups chocolate chips
1/3 cup coffee liqueur
1 block silken tofu
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey (I used agave nectar)
1 prepared chocolate wafer crust
Directions
Place a small metal bowl over a saucepan with simmering water. Melt the chocolate and coffee liqueur in the bowl. Stir in vanilla.

Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in the blender jar. Liquefy until smooth.

Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate for 2 hours, or until the filling is set.

No one guessed that there was tofu in it! It just tasted like a very rich chocolate pie. Some people did taste the Kahlua, but I didn’t notice it.

Aside from the pie, we had lots of other interesting choices. My personal favorite were the Deceptively Delicious Banana Cauliflower Muffins. Seriously, I would make these at home.

IMG_4089.JPG

Chocolate cake made with three jalapenos and cilantro and a ricotta icing. I didn’t like the cake, but the icing was good.

IMG_4090.JPG

“Apple” Pie that’s really make from zucchini. This was just weird. I actually knew the secret ingredient ahead of time and I’m wondering if it would have tasted different to me had I not. It sort of tasted like apple pie, but just a little bit off.

IMG_4093.JPG

Potato Salad made with apples:

IMG_4092.JPG

Cookies made with cake mix. These just tasted like soft cookies. Cake mix is not very bizarre!

IMG_4094.JPG

Brownies with gummy worms:

IMG_4095.JPG

And last but not least, chips with blue dip. It was a little disconcerting to eat onion dip that was bright blue like that!

IMG_4096.JPG

My office has never done anything like this, at least since I’ve been there, so it was a fun little Friday afternoon activity for sure.

21 responses to “Bizarre Foods Friday

  1. Bizarre Foods Friday?! I love it!!! My office thinks I eat strangely… but they sure don’t complain when I bring them samples. 🙂

  2. That does seem super fun, Lee! I think your pie would have been my favorite… Have a great weekend!

  3. What a fun idea! Honestly, your pie looks like the yummiest thing there.

  4. That is such a fun idea. Although potato salad with apples is a bit odd.

  5. Some of those ingredients are definitely not weird, but at least they tried and participated! Fun! You’re pie definitely looks awesome.

  6. Cake with cilantro and jalepenos?! That is crazy! I LOVE this idea. I am the same as you…..all of my co-workers think all of my food is bizarre. 😉 BUT I have gotten a few people to try quinoa, and they love it now!

  7. Such a fun idea!! I think I want to institute something like this at my office. I have to say — your silken tofu pie sounds the best! 🙂

  8. What a fun idea! I love it!!! Your pie looks yummy and I totally want to try those muffins. The zuch apple pie kind of scares me. I’m not sure why- zuch bread is good…..Hope you’re having a nice weekend

  9. ha! I love this idea so much – and fun to do at the office!

  10. That sounds like so much fun!!

  11. Lol…fun! Posts like this make me wish that I worked in an actual office!

  12. That’s awesome! I once made banana-avocado muffins and brought them to work forcing everybody to try one! If they hadn’t had a green-tinged color, no one would have even guessed there was anything different about them!

  13. Haha, this looks really fun! I doubt I could get my coworkers to participate in something like this. Your choco pie looks delish. Those cauliflower muffins sure are interesting. You wouldn’t think they would taste good!

  14. Yumm! ❤ And what a fun idea for something to do with people at work!

  15. What an awesome idea! My sister makes an “apple crisp” with zucchini that is pretty convincing!

  16. That’s such a fun idea! I may steal this for a future girls night theme, ha! The cauliflour/banana muffins look so good, ditto on your chocolate-y/tofu pie! Mm!

  17. That is the funniest idea ever! Are your coworkers foodies too?