Ordinary Tuesday in February

I used to have a hard time living in the present. I wouldn’t harp on the past, but instead, I’d constantly be looking forward to something in the future. I don’t think there is anything wrong with looking forward to upcoming events, but I used to almost miss out on life because I was too busy looking forward to the next fun thing.

I think a big part of being able to live in the present is to be satisfied with the ordinary. When I was thinking about something to write tonight, I was sort of struck at how ordinary a day it had been. Just an ordinary Tuesday in February. And then I realized that I was perfectly happy with it being an ordinary Tuesday in February. Sure, I wish it was Friday and sure, I wish it was March or April because I’m sick of the winter but all the ordinary moments are what makes up my life, for the most part, so I’m pretty lucky that I can enjoy them.

So what’s an ordinary day for me?

I get up and get ready for work. I have to be there at 8:30 so I leave at 8:10. I usually work until about 12:30 and then I leave for an hour. I like to get out of the building. Sometimes I go to the gym, but today I did errands. Specifically, I got my eyebrows waxed and picked up some paint testers. After trying six different colors of green on the wall, we finally have settled on one. It’s the second from the right, although it may look different on your screen.

IMG_5685.JPG

After I get off work at 5:30, I usually go to the gym if I haven’t at lunch. Today I ran an easy 3 miles at 5.7mph. I wanted to run slowly since I have a 5 mile tempo run on tap for tomorrow.

After the gym, I come home, shower and make dinner. Dinner wasn’t anything special either. Just a stir-fry with a side of quinoa. I used pre-cut Asian vegetables from Trader Joe’s and made a sauce out of 1/2 cup veggie broth, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp sesame oil and 1 tsp cornstarch.

IMG_5678.JPG

After dinner, I hang out with my guys – Jason and Murphy. Just an ordinary day in February and I wouldn’t have it any differently.

Oh, and it’s my 3 year blog anniversary! Can you believe that I’ve been blogging at In My Tummy for 3 years?! I guess I have a lot to say.

24 responses to “Ordinary Tuesday in February

  1. I like that color!! AND– happy blogiversary!!!

  2. Wow, 3 years! Congrats on the milestone. Nothing ordinary about that. πŸ™‚

    Now let’s see if this comment actually shows up…

  3. happy blog-o-versary πŸ™‚

    that must mean i’ve ‘known’ you for forever. when are you going to get your butt to NC?

    • I think I’ve “known” you for at least 6 years! I’m still planning on doing that race in Chapel Hill in April. Although, my sister has mono and doesn’t know if she can train for it.

  4. Happy blog anniversary, Lee!!! I love that my life has become “boring” for the most part. Typical days sit just fine with me. πŸ™‚

  5. Happy blogaversary! Three years, that’s awesome. and dinner looks extra yummy for an ordinary day BTW!

  6. Congrats of 3 years! That’s no small feat!

  7. Woohoo!!! Congrats on 3 years!!!

  8. Happy anniversary! Keep ’em coming.

  9. First – congrats on the bloggy birthday! Very cool!

    Second – I think I need to take a page from your book. I have a very hard time with the whole “can’t waiting” thing…and being happy with just being present and in the moment more often, as I’ve been writing about a lot lately.

  10. happy blog birthday!!!!! wahooooo! It is definitely a challenge to live in the present, but its really good to remember that each day is special!

  11. Wow! Congrats!!!

    And I love ordinary days too.

  12. happy blogiversary! 3 years…thats pretty serious.

  13. Happy blog-versary! Very impressive. I will be reflecting on your post today as I am one of those who always is thinking about the future (tomorrow, next week, whatever) and forget to live in today.

  14. happy blogoversary!

  15. Congrats on 3 years! I like the ordinary day post.

  16. Happy 3 years! I am the same way about always looking to the future. I always forget to live in the present. I get it from my Dad. Thanks for the reminder that the ordinary everyday is sometimes the best.

  17. Happy 3 Years! I love this post – you’re so right about it being important to focus on the now. Its tough! πŸ™‚

  18. Happy 3 years! I get a 1 hour lunch break but I never take it. I feel guilty for some reason! Plus, there is nothing around me, as I work in the ghetto, so if I went anywhere I’d spend 30 minutes of my break driving.

  19. Congrats on three years!!! I love hearing how you spend your random day!

  20. Yay! Happy “Blogaversary”!!