Kitchen Sink Curry

In theory, today was the perfect day to do my 5-mile tempo run. I have dinner plans tomorrow night and I’m doing my long run on Saturday, so doing the 5-miler tonight would have spaced things out perfectly. I was tired all day. I’m not sure why. I didn’t go to bed any later than normal nor did I have trouble sleeping, but I was tired. I drove to the gym after work. Usually it takes some willpower to actually drive to the gym instead of home, but once I’m there, I’m fine.

Not so much tonight. My dad called while I was in the car and I sat in the parking lot talking to him for like 10 minutes. Then, I went in the gym, changed and hopped on a treadmill. I ran for 4 minutes before calling it quits. And I went home. I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever done that before. I’ve aborted a run and gotten on the elliptical, but I don’t know if I’ve ever just straight up gone home.

Of course, I’m feeling a little guilty about it. Now I’m going to have to do the 5 mile run on Friday, my long run on Saturday and what was supposed to be Friday’s 3 miler on Sunday. So that’ll be a lot of running this weekend. I hope it’s worth it. I was just so tired tonight. I think that my body was asking for a break.

I had some spinach and tomato in my fridge that I needed to use. After looking at Super Cook (which is the coolest website – why didn’t I invent that?), I found some curry recipes and decided to make curry for dinner based on what I had already at home. This was definitely an everything but the kitchen sink curry! It was tasty though. I think once you have the sauce down, curry is a pretty hard recipe to screw up.

I based my sauce on the Spicy Curry from Skinny Bitch but then changed it up quite a bit.

IMG_5692.JPG

Everything But the Kitchen Sink Curry
adapted from Skinny Bitch
Serves 4-6

2 tbsp grapeseed oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can light coconut milk
1.5 cups water
2 tbsp miso
2 tsp mild red curry paste
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 onion, chopped
1 cup broccoli florets
1 cup spinach
1/2 can diced tomatoes
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1. Heat 1 tbsp grapeseed oil in pot over medium heat. Saute garlic for 30 seconds. Add next five ingredients. Bring to a boil and then turn heat down to low and cover.

2. Meanwhile, heat other tbsp of oil in large pan. Add onion and broccoli. Cook for approximately 5 minutes. When onion and broccoli are tender, add spinach and cook until wilted.

3. Add onion, broccoli, spinach, tomatoes and chickpeas to curry sauce. Continue to let simmer for 20 minutes. Add salt to taste.

Now I’m off to curl up on the couch with my new Cooking Light subscription. My sister-in-law Natalie got it for me for Christmas and the first issue came today. Good night!

IMG_5687.JPG
21 responses to “Kitchen Sink Curry

  1. Wow, the combination of all of these ingredients sounds amazing.

  2. Aw man, I am so jealous of you U.S. mainlanders with your subscriptions coming on time! Mine always come at least a month and a half late… it’s so frustrating!

  3. i didn’t get my CL yet!! i want.

  4. The curry looks awesome.

    As for the run… I’ve been there. And I don’t know what’s worse, actually missing the run or beating myself up about it afterwards! (Probably the latter.) It’s a bummer, but life happens and sometimes we just have to roll with it. Good luck with your runs, I’m sure you’ll do great, and if a 3-miler sips through the cracks because you’re too tired, maybe it’s for the better! Have fun!

  5. Yay – love that you got cooking light! I just got it – can’t wait!

    The curry looks wonderful – you’re so good about trying new things!

    I’m sorry the run didn’t work out. 😦

  6. Mmmm… curry is my favorite. πŸ™‚

  7. Some of my favorite meals start with a “kitchen sink” mentality… your curry sauce sounds amazing!

  8. I am a huge fan of kitchen sink meals! Come to think of it- that’s most of my meals πŸ™‚

  9. Sounds like a great meal!

    As for the run, I wouldn’t try to make it up. For me, unless it’s a long run, a missed run is just a missed run, and trying to make up the mileage just for the sake of making up the mileage doesn’t always help your training, especially if you’re already feeling fatigued.

  10. I’ve done that a few times– just turned around and gone home. You know…sometimes, you’re just not feeling it. πŸ™‚

  11. Maybe you should cancel the 3 miler or 5 miler. It sounds like your body is tired and running 3 days in a row won’t help much!

  12. I definitely abort runs (or any workout, really!) if I’m super tired. I think it actually does me more harm than good to go through with it when I’m exhausted!

  13. Happens to me too sometimes…sounds like you just needgoed a rest day! Don’t beat yourself up over it!!

  14. That looks delish!
    Sometimes thats just your body telling you its tired and needs a break.. sometimes less is more. Take it for what its worth and hit it hard the next time. I have done that on more than one occasion!! Your body will thank you in the end!
    Im new to your blog and Im loving it!! you are a doll!

  15. We definitely all have days like this! I think its good to listen to your body & mind sometimes and just take the break! And what a delicious dinner. I love when a pantry/cabinet/fridge meal just comes together. Perfection. Happy (almost) Friday πŸ˜‰

  16. I hope you are feeling more energetic today! I have been exhausted all week. Sorry about the schedule getting out of whack. Hopefully the runs this weekend will feel good. Dinner looks delicious!

  17. Sometimes you just need to give yourself a break and take a day [or three] off. You won’t loose any fitness, and you’ll probably feel awesome for your next runs. πŸ™‚

  18. I would love to make my own curry at home! Yours looks delicious. I know it’s hard to not feel guilty about missing a workout, but I always try to think about how fresh and motivated I’ll be for my next one πŸ™‚

  19. That dish looks tasty and healthy! I got my first issue of Vegetarian Times today! I’m a sucker for magazines πŸ™‚

  20. I recently let my CL subscription run out. You make me want to have it back!