Send some good vibes my way

By some miracle, the gym was not crowded last night and I was able to do my 6-mile tempo run without feeling death stares in the back of my head for being on the treadmill over the time limit. My tempo run was:

1 mile warm-up at 5.3 mph
4 mile tempo at 6.1 mph
1 mile cool-down at 5.3 mph

It got a little bit hard when I had about half a mile left of the tempo portion of the run. But lucky (and cheesy) for me, Chariots of Fire came on my ipod and I got all pumped. Whenever that song comes on, I picture myself limping through the finish line of some brutal race. I have no idea why I picture myself to be wounded, but it seems inspirational. Or something. I never said I was normal!

Run went well, but I was glad that I didn’t have to run tonight. Especially since a water main broke and my entire complex was without water. For a less sweaty workout, I did 20 minutes on the elliptical and then used The Fitnessista’s Intro to Iron Pumping Workout. Truthfully, I was getting a little bored of the New Rules of Lifting so this provided some much needed variety. I did the shoulders, chest and triceps workout. I could not do the pushups on the stability ball at all! I did them girly style instead. One of these days, or years, I’m going to be able to do a real pushup!

Dinner tonight was a reincarnation of Monday’s dinner. Basically, I used the same basic ingredients (frozen veggies, refried beans and salsa) and put them on a flat out wrap. Then I topped it with 2% Mexican cheese blend and baked it in the toaster oven for about 7 minutes.

IMG_0578.JPG

My dinners tend to look very similar to one another. I guess I like what I like. So, those apple muffins that I mentioned yesterday? Here they are.

IMG_0575.JPG

Apple Muffins
(adapted from this recipe)

1 cup 0% greek yogurt
1 chopped apple
1/2 cup no-sugar added berry flavored applesauce
1/4 cup egg beaters
1 cup oatbran like cereal (I don’t know what it was, some sort of 4-grain cereal thing)
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat white flour
3 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tbsp. packed brown sugar
Heat oven to 400 degrees. Spray 12 medium muffin cups with non stick cooking spray or line with paper baking cups. Mix yogurt, apple, applesauce and egg whites in large bowl until blended. Stir in remaining ingredients (except brown sugar) just until flour is moistened. Fill muffin cups 7/8 full. Sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake for 20 to 24 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately remove from pan. Makes 12 muffins.

On a serious note, my father has a biopsy tomorrow morning. He underwent a 6-week chemical treatment and now they are going to see if the cancer has been eradicated. If there are no cancer cells present, he will just go on with his normal life and have to be checked every three months or so. If the cancer is still there, he will have to have his entire bladder removed. He won’t find out until sometime next week. I’m trying to be positive about the situation, but honestly, I have no idea what’s going to happen.

23 responses to “Send some good vibes my way

  1. i’m so glad you liked the workout!
    xoxo

  2. What’s this?! A muffin recipe I haven’t tried? That looks very yummy. And I do love my apples…

    Praying for your dad and your family – I hope everything goes well tomorrow.

  3. Those muffins look healthy & delicious!

    I’m praying that your dad gets good news. I’m sure that this is a very stressful time for you and your family… I’m sorry that you’re going through this, but I’m hoping for the best.

  4. Yay for new workouts!!

    I hope your dad gets some good results!

  5. That veggie tortilla pizza meal looks awesome!

    I hope that you and your family get good news about your dad. 🙂

  6. Praying everything going well with your dad.

  7. Aww….your apple muffins look FANTASTIC!! Mmm. 🙂

    Your blog is so cute…I will pray for you and your family girl!

  8. Beautiful photos of the wrap! Easy and yummy, I bet!

  9. Good vibes are being sent to you and your Dad!!! Keep us posted and I am definitely thinking about you and your family right now!!

  10. Sending you some positive thoughts.

  11. You are most certainly in my thoughts and prayers. My grandfather just had a Whipple procedure b/c a tumor was found on his pancreas. Family ills are awful, awful things but know that this whole blog community is sending good vibes your way and on to your father!

  12. Hope everything went well for your dad!

  13. Sending good vibes your way!!

  14. Sending good thoughts to you and your father!

    I don’t miss those stressful times of waiting for procedures to happen or results to arrive, but if you ever need a friend to talk to, please don’t hesitate to email me!

  15. I know what you mean about death stares at the gym. Funny how it’s already starting to thin out from the NY’s resolution crowd… it has been two weeks…

    Keep your dad, you and your family in my thoughts and prayers 🙂

  16. angieinatlanta

    Oh, Lee, you and your family are in my prayers and thoughts! I am thinking of you guys and hoping for the best!

    Please let me know if there’s anything I can do!

  17. waita go for rockin those workouts..and yummy meals.
    Prayin for you and your fam right now…

  18. Great workouts, I think your apple muffins sound good.

  19. Thinking of your dad, you and your family! Please keep us updated. *hugs*

  20. Yum!! Those apple muffins look awesome, I am excited to try them out!

  21. great workout! those apple muffins need to be a part of my life ASAP!!! thinking of your dad! 🙂

  22. Thinking good thoughts for your Dad and your family! Delicious looking muffins too, I always forget about using yogurt in baked goods, thanks for the reminder!

  23. Praying for your daddy and you! Glad you got in such a great run and yummy dinner. mmm just the thought of refried beans and a falt out makes me hungry